Abysmal Dawn unleash new song “Hedonistic”

Posted by on January 23, 2020

Photo by: Rodrigo Fredes


Abysmal Dawn are back with their first album in six years! The Los Angeles death metal outfit’s overall fifth full-length effort, Phylogenesis, is scheduled to arrive on April 17th. The follow-up to 2014’s Obsolescence also marks their debut with Season of Mist. Today (23rd), the group has unleashed their first single from the album with “Hedonistic.”  


The band commented:

“So here we are, album number five, six years after the release of our last album! It took a long time to get here but I can say without a doubt, this one is worth the wait. We pushed the limits of all the musicians in this band and everyone is extremely proud. We finally get to release the first single today and can’t wait for you all to hear the whole thing.

The album title Phylogenesis (fīlōˈjenəsəs) basically refers to an evolution of a species in biology. It could be applied to how we’ve evolved for the better as a band, but also how humanity has evolved for the worse. Lyrically the album became sort of concept album somewhat unintentionally. It deals a lot with things we encounter in our modern society and the maddening effect it has on the individual. ‘Hedonistic,’ in particular, is somewhat inspired by Maslow’s Hierachy of Needs and that true happiness lies in purpose, not material pursuits. 

Thank you to all our fans that have supported us in our absence and waited patiently. This album is for you just as much as it is for us. Truly, thank you from the bottom of our black hearts. We’ll see you on the road with Vader, Hideous Divinity and Vitriol soon and expect even more of us in 2020!” 


Check out the song below and pre-order the album here:


Next month, Abysmal Dawn will be supporting Vader on their North American tour. Check out the tour dates at this location


Track List:

01) Mundane Existence

02) The Path of The Totalitarian

03) Hedonistic

04) A Speck in The Fabric of Eternity

05) Coerced Evolution

06) True to The Blind

07) Soul-Sick Nation

08) The Lament Configuration

09) Flattening of Emotions (DEATH cover)



Categorised in: New Music, News, Releases, Video