Country Mötley Crüe album track listing proves country artists have crappy taste

Posted by on May 13, 2014

We didn’t necessarily think that the country tribute to Mötley Crüe would be for us. Mainly because it’s a country album. Given, the main difference between the ’80s hair metal that Mötley was a big part of and current country music is pretty much steel pedal guitar. But the track listing to the album has been released, along with the artists covering them, and wow, there are some pretty bad songs  being covered. They pretty much could have just looked at Decade of Decadence, the band’s first greatest hits album, and went down the list. Instead, there are some of the more inessential Crüe songs in their catalog covered.

Remember “Afraid,” from Generation Swine? Yeah, that’s covered, by StainD frontman Aaron Lewis, no less. How about the power ballad “If I Die Tomorrow” from their 2005 Greatest Hits album Red, White & Crue? Yeah, us neither. There’s even a song from 2008’s The Saints of Los Angeles on there (“The Animal In Me”). Of course all of the classics are covered – actually, make that most of the classics. Maybe country is too god-fearin’ for anyone to take on “Shout at the Devil?”

They do have a pretty solid lineup of artists, however. Florida Georgia Line, LeAnn Rimes, Rascall Flatts, and Big & Rich are certainly current and formerly popular country acts. Cheap Trick’s Robin Zander pops up to duet with Cassadde Pope, and Hootie (aka Darius Rucker) also pops up for a song. The band and Justin Moore are filming a video for “Home Sweet Home” today in Nashville, according to their Facebook page.

Nashville Outlaws: A Tribute To Mötley Crüe will be released on July 9th by Big Machine Records and  Mötley Records.


1. Rascal Flatts, “Kickstart My Heart”
2. Florida Georgia Line, “If I Die Tomorrow”
3. LeAnn Rimes, “Smokin’ In The Boys Room”
4. Justin Moore, “Home Sweet Home”
5. Cassadde Pope with Robin Zander, “The Animal In Me”
6. Aaron Lewis, “Afraid”
7. Big & Rich, “SOS”
8. Sam Palladio and Clare Bowen, ‘Without You’
9. Eli Young Band, ‘Don’t Go Away Mad’
10. Lauren Jenkins, ‘Looks That Kill’
11. The Cadillac Three, ‘Live Wire’
12. The Mavericks, ‘Dr. Feelgood’
13. Brantley Gilbert, ‘Girls, Girls, Girls’
14. Gretchen Wilson, ‘Wild Side’
15. Darius Rucker, ‘Time For Change’

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categorised in: Metal on Metal, New Music, News, Updates