New & Noteworthy is a weekly column in which we highlight some of the newest rock and metal releases coming out each week. This week brings new us new music from Immortal, and a live Devin Townsend album! Be sure to check out the last week’s New & Noteworthy, for what all dropped last Friday. If you want to see last week’s sales numbers, you can read about those in Metal by Numbers. Also be sure to follow us on Spotify to get this month’s New & Noteworthy Playlist, updated every Friday.

Studio Releases

Immortal, Northern Chaos Gods (Nuclear Blast)

Northern Chaos Gods is the ninth studio album from the Norwegian black metal band Immortal. The album is their first studio album to be released in nine year, with All Shall Fall being released back in 2008. It is also their first release to not feature founding vocalist/bassist and eventual guitarist Abbath, as he was replaced by founding guitarist Demonaz Doom Occulta in 2015. Bass duties on the album were handled by Peter Tägtgren (PAIN). So far they have released two lyric videos from the album, one for “Mighty Ravendark” and the other for album’s title track “Northern Chaos Gods.” Northern Chaos Gods is also available on colored vinyl and cassette.

If you want to read more, you can check our contributor Jeff Podoshen’s review of the album here.

DevilDriver, Outlaws ‘Til The End (Napalm)

Outlaws ‘Til the End is a little something special coming from Devildriver, it’s a cover album taking on some of country music’s greatest. They released a video for the track “Ghost Riders in the Sky,” and the song included guest appearances by Johnny Cash’s son John Carter Cash and his Ana Cristina, as well as Lamb of God’s Randy Blythe. You can check out the rest of the tracklist here. Outlaws ‘Til the End is also available on vinyl.

Devin Townsend, Ocean Machine – Live At The Ancient Roman Theatre Plovdiv (Inside Out Music)

In celebration of the 20th anniversary of his album Ocean Machine, Devin Townsend played a sold out show at the Ancient Roman Theatre in Plovdiv, Bulgaria. The live show featured the entirety of Ocean Machine as well as a fan requested set, alongside the Orchestra of Plovdiv State Opera. Check out the videos for “Regulator” and “Truth.”

This album sort of marks the Devin Townsend Project chapter coming to a close for now, as Devin seeks to explore other musical opportunities over the next few years. From what I’ve heard so far, it’s a fitting way to go out.

Greywalker , Without Control (Self-released)

Steel city thrash band Greywalker is returning with their second album, Without Control. It is self produced and self released, and came out sounding their best yet. So far they have released music videos for the two songs “Without Control” and “Pity Capsule,” as well as a playthru video of the song “In the Face of the Abyss” with bassist Colt Dalmaso. Tomorrow night I’ll be going out to their CD release show at the Rex Theater in Pittsburgh.

Atrocity, Okkult II (Massacre)
Kissin’ Dynamite, Ecstasy (Metal Blade Records)
Kontinuum, No Need to Reason (Season Of Mist)
Lucifer, Lucifer II (Century Media)
Secret Cutter, Quantum Eraser (Deathwish Inc./Holy Roar)

Vinyl Releases

Damageplan, New Found Power (Music On Vinyl)
Glassjaw, Material Control (Globochem Music Inc.)