Thirteen awesome album updates – 4/5/21

Posted by on April 5, 2021


From new teasers to official announcements, here are thirteen awesome album updates that were announced recently. 


01) Fear Factory share riff teaser for upcoming album:

The wait is nearing a close to hearing the new Fear Factory record. Guitarist Dino Cazares shared a short riff teaser from the new album via Twitter. The group will release their first new song in over five years on April 16th, as the band’s upcoming record is expected to arrive later this year via Nuclear Blast Records.



02) At The Gates to release new album The Nightmare of Being in July:



Swedish melodic death metal legends At The Gates have announced their new album, The Nightmare of Being, will be released on July 2nd via Century Media Records. The follow-up to 2018’s To Drink From the Night Itself was recorded in different Swedish studios, drums at Studio Gröndal with Jens Bogren, guitars and bass with Andy La Rocque at Sonic Train Studio and vocals at Welfare Sounds with Per Stålberg. The album was mixed and mastered at Fascination Street Studios (Amon Amarth, Opeth, Kreator, etc.) by Jens Bogren and the cover artwork was created by artist Eva Nahon. Pre-orders will be available on April 30th.   

Vocalist Tomas Lindberg Redant comments:

“The overall theme deals with the topic of pessimism, and I have been diving deep down in pessimistic philosophers. Trying to understand this way of looking at the world. It is not a negative album, more a gateway into new ideas for me personally, trying out different perspectives. You could call the album an introduction to pessimism as a concept, I guess. It is a very dark album, but not negative.”


He adds:

“It still sounds like AT THE GATES, 100 percent. It is just more of everything.”


Track List:

01) Spectre of Extinction

02) The Paradox

03) The Nightmare of Being

04) Garden of Cyrus

05) Touched by the White Hands of Death

06) The Fall into Time

07). Cult of Salvation

08) The Abstract Enthroned

09) Cosmic Pessimism

10) Eternal Winter of Reason



03) Meshuggah are in the studio!



Swedish extreme tech metal icons Meshuggah have entered Sweetspot Studios to record the follow-up to 2016’s The Violent Sleep of Reason. The group has also revealed the return of guitarist Fredrik Thordendal both in the studio as well as touring.


The band comments:

“Things are happening. As some of you figured out we have entered Sweetspot Studios and have begun recording a new album. ::Spoiler:: There will be distortion and kicks. Also, we have other news. We are releasing Per Nilsson back into the wild to roam free in any way he sees fit. It has been a true privilege and honor to share the stage with Per and even more importantly we have made a great friend through our travels. Per. We thank you. You are a formidable human being!! Check out all of Per’s goodness at www.facebook.com/scarguitar | www.facebook.com/scarsymmetry 

So why are we releasing Per back into a more stable habitat you ask? The answer is simple. Fredrik will be back for lead work on the album as well as touring going forward. In other words. The band is back together. In full effect.”


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categorised in: New Music, News, Releases, Updates, Video