Crypta (ex-Nervosa/ex-Burning Witches) unveil new song “From the Ashes;” debut album arriving in June

Posted by on April 7, 2021


Brazillian/Dutch death metal outfit Crypta, featuring former Nervosa and Burning Witches members have announced their debut album, Echoes of the Soul, will be released on June 11th via Napalm Records. The album was recorded this past January at the Family Mob Studio (Brazil), mixed by Arthur Rizik (Code Orange, Powertrip), and mastered by Jens Bogren (Opeth, Dimmu Borgir). To celebrate the album announcement, the group has shared a video for their first single “From The Ashes.” 


Singer/bassist Fernanda Lira comments on the new track:

“The song is basically about the well-known tale of the phoenix, but in a more philosophical sense. It talks about the ever-changing cycles of life, about the many endings and beginnings we have to go through, about how many old versions of ourselves need to figuratively die in order for us to keep growing and evolving as human beings, and finally, about building resilience to endure all these rebirths.”


Director André Gustavo adds on the video:

“I believe the song perfectly matches the current moment we’re living, during which all humanity needs to reinvent itself and be reborn ‘From The Ashes’. The videoclip preparation itself can also be translated through it: building up such a big production during this terrible moment we’re living was a big challenge to all of us. I believe, for all of that, from the creative and cinematographic perspective, we had a great final outcome for the video.”


Watch the clip below and pre-order the album here:



Track List:

01) Awakening

02) Starvation

03) Possessed

04) Death Arcana

05) Shadow Within

06) Under the Black Wings

07) Kali

08) Blood Stained Heritage

09) Dark Night of the Soul

10) From the Ashes


Check out the cover artwork by Wes Benscoter:



Categorised in: New Music, News, Releases, Video