Sanctuary to release 30th Anniversary Edition of ‘Into The Mirror Black’

Posted by on August 31, 2020


Sanctuary are celebrating the 30th Anniversary of their 1990 sophomore effort, Into The Mirror Black. The group has announced they will release the 30th Anniversary Edition of the record on October 9th via Century Media Records, which you can pre-order at this location and order T-shirt bundles here

The lineup on this recording includes the late Warrel Dane (vocals), Lenny Rutledge (guitar), Sean Blosl (guitar), Jim Sheppard (bass), and Dave Budbill (drums). The band initially had plans to celebrate the album live with their current singer Joseph Michael. However, plans changed due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. 

The new edition was remastered by Zeuss (Queensrÿche, Iced Earth, Overkill), which includes previously released studio demos and an entire, newly mixed 10-track live album from 1990, which was partially released on a rare promo-EP. Additionally, this version will include previously unpublished photos, liner notes from Rutledge and Sheppard, and more. The new edition will be released as a limited LP containing three 180 gram vinyls housed in a widespined Gatefold sleeve and includes an 8-page LP-sized booklet. The 2CD format comes in a digipak and slipcase packaging.

Rutledge comments:

“We are so excited to finally be releasing this special edition of ‘Into The Mirror Black!’ The remaster of the original songs sounds awesome and the 1990 “Black Reflections” live concert is finally going to be released in all its authentic live glory. The live material was mixed and mastered by Zeuss and is presented as recorded. No re-recordings or overdubs. Look for Sanctuary on tour in Fall of 2021 playing the entire “Into The Mirror Black” set. We cant wait to bring the live show to Europe, USA and South America in 2021.”


Zeuss adds:

“The concert from 1990 is a total snapshot in time when the band was at its peak. It’s captured before the initial breakup which led to Warrel and Jim forming Nevermore. Hearing it brought me right back to the first time I personally saw them.”


Track List:

DISC 1 (60:53)

01) Future Tense (5:07)

02) Taste Revenge (5:03)

03) Long Since Dark (5:06)

04) Epitaph (6:03)

05) Eden Lies Obscured (5:23)

06) The Mirror Black (5:06)

07) Seasons of Destruction (4:51)

08) One More Murder (4:20)

09) Communion (5:38)

10) Future Tense (Demo 1989) (5:16)

11) I Am Insane (Demo 1989) (4:04)

12) Mirror Black (Demo 1989) (4:56)

DISC 2 (49:26)

01) Eden Lies Obscured (Live 1990) (5:15)

02) Seasons of Destruction (Live 1990) (5:01)

03) Die For My Sins (Live 1990) (4:05)

04) Future Tense (Live 1990) (5:15)

05) White Rabbit (Live 1990) (5:37)

06) Taste Revenge (Live 1990) (5:09)

07) Long Since Dark (Live 1990) (5:08)

08) Sanctuary (Live 1990) (4:25)

09) One More Murder (Live 1990) (4:13)

10) Battle Angels (Live 1990) (5:18)



Categorised in: News, Releases