New & Noteworthy is a weekly column in which we highlight some of the newest rock and metal releases coming out each week. This week is a pretty big one, because we have releases from Trivium and GWAR, as well as two notable debuts with Sons of Apollo and VUUR. If you would like to check out last week’s New & Noteworthy, you can do so here. If you want to see last week’s sales numbers, check out Metal by Numbers.  Marilyn Manson had the best debut of the week for metal, and The Black Dahlia Murder had the bested their previous release. Follow us on Spotify for weekly new music playlists.

Studio Releases

Trivium, The Sin And The Sentence (Roadrunner)

The Sin and The Sentence is the eighth studio album from the American metal group Trivium. They have released music videos for the first two singles, “The Sin and The Sentence” and “The Heart From Your Hate,” and on Wednesday their new drummer Alex Bent (ex-Battlecross) released an impressive playthrough video of “Betrayer.” Just gauging the early reactions to Bent’s playing, all signs point to him becoming a fan favorite. TSASTS was recorded at Hybrid Studios in Santa Ana, California If you would like to see some behind-the-scenes footage, they have released four videos of it on their YouTube page. Trivium will be touring North America starting next Friday (8/27) in Orlando, Florida alongside Arch Enemy, While She Sleeps, and Fit for and Autopsy. The Sin and The Sentence is also available on vinyl, and it comes with a digital download code for the album as well.

GWAR, The Blood Of Gods (Metal Blade)

Fresh off a run on the Vans Warped Tour, GWAR has returned with The Blood of Gods, and are already set to continue ravaging the world. This is the 14th album from the group and is the first to not feature former vocalist Dave Brockie, due to his passing in 2014. The album was recorded between two studios, White Star Sound in Zion Crossroads, Virginia and Slave Pit Studios in Richmond, Virginia. This album features the return of founding bassist Michael Bishop, who has since taken over vocal duties under the guise of a new character. So far the group has released two music videos so, the first being “Fuck This Place,” which appears to take live footage from their recent stint on the Vans Warped Tour, and the second being the newly released “I’ll Be Your Monster,“which debuted on the Howard Stern. Tonight the band will be kicking off their headlining U.S. tour in their hometown of Richmond, VA alongside Doyle and U.S. Bastards. The album is also available as a limited edition pink vinyl.

Europe, Walk the Earth  (Hell & Back)

Walk the Earth is the eleventh album from the Swedish rock group Europe. Along with renowned producer Dave Cobb, the band recorded this album in the legendary Abbey Road Studios in London, England. Cobb also worked with the band on their 2015 album, War of Kings. This November Europe will be touring Europe, but they currently do not have any North American dates announced. Walk the Earth is also available on vinyl



Slipknot, Day Of The Gusano: Live in Mexico (Eagle Rock Entertainment)

Day of the Gusano is a comibation concert film / documentary focusing on the American heavy metal band Slipknot. They were both filmed to document the band’s first show in Mexico City in 2015, and it was directed by directed by the band’s own M. Shawn “Clown” Crahan. For a preview of what to expect, check out clips of their songs “Vermilion” and “Psychosocial.” In an interview, Clown stated that “Slipknot still has dreams for itself,” and that “finally playing Mexico was one of them.” Obviously is was an important occasion for the band, and now it’s available for purchase in a variety of mediums like Blu-ray, DVD/CD, and a Limited Edition 3LP/DVD vinyl boxset. Want to win a copy of it? Yes, yes you do.

Sons Of Apollo, Psychotic Symphony (InsideOut Music)

This is the debut album from the prog metal supergroup Sons of Apollo. The band features Mike Portnoy, Billy Sheehan, Derek Sherinian, Jeff Scott Soto and Ron “Bumblefoot” Thal. They have released a music video for the track “Coming Home,” and Portnoy has since released a drum playthrough video for “Signs of the Time.” As of right now, they have no current publicly announced tour dates. Psychotic Symphony is also available on vinyl.



Veil Of Maya, False Idol (Sumerian)

False Idol is the sixth studio album from the Chicago based progressive metal group Veil of Maya. They have released two music videos from the album so far, “Doublespeak” and “Overthrow.” If you would like to see them in concert, tonight they are kicking off their North American tour in Dallas.




Vuur, In This Moment We Are Free – Cities (InsideOut Music)

In This Moment We Are Free – Cities is the debut album from the Anneke van Giersbergen fronted progressive metal group VUUR. The band was made around the touring line-up of The Gentle Storm, a project between Anneke and fellow Dutch guitarist/composer Arjen Anthony Lucassen. This album was recorded the album at Sandlane Recording Facilities in Rijen, the Netherlands with producer Joost van den Broek. Leading up to the release they produced a music video for the song “My Champion – Berlin.” VUUR will be touring Europe in November and December, but will also be playing ProgPower USA next year. ITMWAF-C is also available on vinyl.

In Search Of Sun, Virgin Funk Mother (Spinefarm )

Virgin Funk Mother is the second album from the London based alt metal group In Search of Sun, and the first since the group signed to Spinefarm Records. The album was produced by Phil Kinman and Rory Kay, and mixed by former Periphery bassist “Nolly” Getgood. Back in February they launched a crowdfunding campaign on Kickstarter to help pay for the production of the album. They released a music video for the first single “say it like you mean it,” and if there’s one link you click here today, make it that one. You’ll thank me later.


Amenra, Mass VI (Neurot Recordings)
American War Machine, Prey Drive (Bridge 9)
Bell Witch, Mirror Reaper (Profound Lore)
Blut Aus Nord, Deus Salutis Meæ (Debemur Morti Productions)
Conan, Monnos (Peaceville)
Cyrha, Letters To Myself (Spinefarm)
Daemusinem, Thy Ungodly Defiance (Willowtip)
Death Rattle, Volition (N/A)
Emil Bulls, Kill Your Demons (AFM)
God Mother, Vilseledd (Party Smasher Inc.)
Iron Monkey, 9-13 (Relapse)
Legend, Charging The Field (Unholy Anarchy Records)
Rig Time!, War (Innerstrength Records)
Sorcerer, The Crowning Of The Fire King (Metal Blade)
The Kennedy Veil, Imperium (Unique Leader)
Then Comes Silence, Blood (Nuclear Blast)
Wormwood, Mooncurse (Translation Loss)

Vinyl Release

Death, Individual Thought Patterns (Relapse)