New & Noteworthy, November 3rd, 2017: The New Music In Us

Posted by on November 3, 2017

New & Noteworthy is a weekly column in which we highlight some of the newest rock and metal releases coming out each week. This week is we have releases from Cannibal Corpse and Converge, as well as Bruce Dickinson’s long awaited autobiography. If you would like to check out last week’s New & Noteworthy, you can do so here. If you want to see last week’s sales numbers, check out Metal by Numbers. Follow us on Spotify for weekly new music playlists.

Studio Releases

Cannibal Corpse, Red Before Black (Metal Blade)

American death metal legends Cannibal Corpse are returning with their fourteenth studio album Red Before Black. The band once again teamed up with Erik Rutan, who has been frequently been tapped for production of the band’s albums for over a decade. Together they recorded Red Before Black at Rutan’s Mana Recording Studios in Florida. Back in September the band released a music video for the song “Code of the Slashers,”which was directed by Zev Deans, who recently directed the critically acclaimed video for Ghost’s “Square Hammer.” The band will be kicking off their North American tour tonight in Jacksonville, Florida, touring alongside Power Trip and Gatecreeper. Red Before Black is also available on vinyl. 

Fun Fact: Earlier this year, bassist Alex Webster had a species of extinct worm named after him.

Converge, The Dusk In Us (Epitaph/Deathwish Inc.)

Five years since the release of their last studio album, the American metalcore pioneers Converge returns with The Dusk In Us, their ninth studio album. Like all of their releases, this too was produced by the group’s guitarist Kurt Ballou, who recorded it in his own GodCity Studio. Not being one to sit around long, Kurt is also currently working with Skeletonwitch on recording their upcoming album. Leading up to the release the band has put out music videos for the two track “I Can Tell You About Pain” and “A Single Tear.” They will be playing a handful of dates in December along the east coast of the U.S. support of the album.

Bruce Dickinson, What Does This Button Do?: An Autobiography (Dey Street)

It may not be an album, but I felt it worth noting that the legendary Iron Maiden vocalist Bruce Dickinson released his autobiography What Does This Button Do? earlier this week. It is currently only available in hardcover, but the paperback will be available in July of next year. For audiobook fans like myself, it appears that Bruce also narrated it himself. That’s no surprise, he’s also been making a few speaking appearances around the world to promote the release.

Moonspell, 1755 (Napalm)

1755 is the eleventh studio album from the Portuguese gothic metal band Moonspell. The LP is a concept album, focusing on the 1755 Lisbon earthquake. It was produced by Tue Madsen (Meshuggah, Dark Tranquility), who also worked with the band on a couple of their previous releases. Just this week the band released an animated music video for the track “In Tremor Dei,” and before that they released lyric videos for the two tracks “Evento” and “Todos Os Santos.” They also recorded a version of “Desastre” with Spanish lyrics. Moonspell will be touring extensively throughout Europe next year, but they do not have any North American dates announced.

Scour, Red (Housecore)

Red is the second EP from the Phil Anselmo fronted project Scour. The group also features members from Cattle Decapitation, Pig Destroyer, Animosity, and Strong Intention. Currently they are only scheduled to play two shows in Texas in December. The album will also be available on vinyl this December.


Like Moths To Flames, Dark Divine (Rise)

Dark Divine is the fourth album from American metalcore band from Columbus, Ohio. Back in September they released a music video for “Nowhere Left to Sink.” The band is currently touring North America alongside Fit for a King and In Hearts Wake. Dark Divine is also available on vinyl.


Annihilator, For The Demented (Neverland Music/Silver Lining Music)
Beast In Black, Berserker (Nuclear Blast)
Boson, Domain Of Ember (Anxious & Angry)
My Enemies & I, The Beast Inside (Fearless)
Nexul, Paradigm Of Chaos (Hell’s Headbangers)
Polaris, The Mortal Coil (SharpTone Records)
Primitive Race, Soul Pretender (Metropolis)
Ram, Rod (Metal Blade)
Signs Of The Swarm, The Disfigurement Of Existence (Unique Leader)
Slaughtbbath, Contempt, War And Damnation (Hell’s Headbangers)
Weapons Of Anew, The Collision Of Love And Hate (MRI)
Zao, Pyrrhic Victory (Observed/Observer)

Vinyl Releases

Expulser, Fornications (Greyhaze)
Obscura, Cosmogenesis (Relapse)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categorised in: Columns, New & Noteworthy