New & Noteworthy is a weekly column in which we highlight some of the newest rock and metal releases coming out each week. This week features the brand new Slipknot album! For last week’s releases you can check out the last New & Noteworthy, and for the latest sales numbers Metal by Numbers. Be sure to follow us on Spotify to get this month’s New & Noteworthy Playlist, updated every Friday with the newest metal releases.

Clutch last week was a ton of fun, and Killswitch Engage always tight. I’m still reminiscing over the ELO show. And, of course, like everyone else I’ve been listening to the title track to Tool’s upcoming Fear Inoculum, and I’m really enjoying it.

New Releases

Slipknot, We Are Not Your Kind (Roadrunner)

Sixth studio album. Des Moines, Iowa. Nu Metal. First album to feature unnamed percussionist, who replaced Chris Fehn earlier this year.

Music videos: “Solway Filth” “Unsainted” “Birth of the Cruel
Producer: Greg Fidelman.
Upcoming dates: North America, August, with Volbeat, Gojira, and Behemoth as support.
Our review: from Zenae.
Somewhat related: Kids cover “Devil in I” from their last album.
Drama: Chris Fehn suing the band. 
We Are Not Your Kind is also available on vinyl and apparently Slipknot does whiskey now.

Destruction, Born To Perish (Nuclear Blast)
Filter, Title Of Record (20th Anniversary Edition) (Craft Recordings)
Gomorrah, Gomorrah (Willowtip)
Horseburner, The Thief (Ripple Music)
Pathology, Reborn To Kill (Pavement Entertainment)
Phobia, Generation Coward (Willowtip Records)
Primitive Race, Cranial Matter (N/A)
Sparrows, Failed Gods (Sound Anxiety)
Suicidal Angels, Years Of Aggression (NoiseArt Records)
Tau Cross, Messengers Of Deception (Relapse)
Unprocessed, Artificial Void (Long Branch Records)
Zombie Apocalypse, Life Without Pain Is A Fucking Fantasy (Innerstrength Records)