New and Noteworthy, July 8th: Conquest

Posted by on July 8, 2014

judaspriestcoverA new album from one of the bands responsible for creating metal as we know is certainly a good start to today’s list. But there’s plenty more that follows, so don’t just stop reading after the first entry! You’re going to want to know everything that’s coming out today, trust me!



Judas Priest, Redeemer of Souls (Epic)


We were excited for Priest’s 17th album before any details were announced for it. Then we heard the title track, “March of the Damned”, and “Dragonaut”, and we knew for sure that greatness was at hand. And now that the whole album is streaming live, we are all rejoicing that Judas Priest is back in business. An announcement of a fall US tour with Steel Panther makes things even better, as those that missed the Epitaph World Tour now get another shot at seeing Priest live.


Dream Theater, The Studio Albums 1992-2011 (Roadrunner)


Yesterday marked the 22nd birthday of Dream Theater’s ground-breaking album Images and Words, their first album with James LaBrie and the one that truly vaulted them into the spotlight. Since that day, Dream Theater has gone on to become the preeminent group in progressive metal worldwide. However, if you’re just now realizing this and want to find out why they have that status, this box set is perfect for you. Featuring every album from Images and Words through 2011’s A Dramatic Turn of Events, this box set catalogs the rise of a band that will go down as one of the greatest in metal history.


Goatwhore, Constricting Rage of the Merciless (Metal Blade)


Goatwhore’s sixth album arrives shortly before the band embarks on this year’s Summer Slaughter tour. This album seems to have a bit more black metal influence than its predecessor, Blood for the Master, but Goatwhore fans new and old will love this album regardless. The band has already released two songs, “FBS” and “Schadenfreude”, which give a good idea of the energy and evil that this new album will contain. If you want to hear the new songs live, be sure to watch the Summer Slaughter tour dates, which you can find here.


Madball, Hardcore Lives (Black N Blue)


If there’s one thing that Madball has been doing well for the past quarter-century, it’s making sure that hardcore continues to thrive in the heavy music scene. Hardcore Lives is the band’s first album with new drummer Mike Justian, whose impressive resume includes stints with The Red Chord, Unearth, and Trap Them. You can check out the video for the track “Born Strong” here, which features Candace Puopolo from Walls of Jericho. Hardcore Lives also features guest appearances from Scott Vogel (Terror), Toby Morse (H2O), Chad Gilbert (Shai Hulud), and wrestler CM Punk.


Steven Wilson, Cover Version (Kscope)


Steven Wilson released six Cover Version EP’s between 2003 and 2010, each containing one original song and one cover song. This release compiles all six EP’s into one comprehensive album. The six covers are all radical departures from the styles used by the original performers, and cover a wide range of music from Alanis Morisette to The Cure.


Origin, Omnipresent (Nuclear Blast)


Origin took their time in rising to the upper ranks of the technical death metal world, really only breaking out on their fourth album, Antithesis. However, the band’s underground following has stuck with them for good reason – through every struggle and hardship they’ve endured, Origin has always come back stronger and better than ever. Omnipresent is the recording debut for ex-Skinless vocalist Jason Keyser, who joined the band in 2011 after the release of Entity.


Ministry, Last Tangle in Paris – Live 2012 (UDR)


With Ministry basically over and done with, Last Tangle in Paris could potentially be the last release of Ministry that has anything fresh or new on it. Never-before-seen backstage footage and interviews are included on this release for that exact reason. The live performance footage contained here comes from the European leg of the DeFiBRilLaTouR, which was likely Ministry’s last tour ever.


Wolves in the Throne Room, Celestite (Artemisia)


Wolves in the Throne Room is one of those bands that everyone knows exists, but not enough people listen to. Unfortunately, Celestite may unintentionally alienate some fans, as the album is a strong departure from its predecessor, Celestial Lineage. Abandoning their traditional black metal style, this album is entirely ambient, lacking drums and vocals on every track. Hopefully, listeners will be able to look past what is missing to appreciate what they hear.


’68, In Humor and Sadness (eOne)


After The Chariot disbanded last year, it seemed pretty obvious that Josh Scogin would find some new output for his love of frenetic, atypical hardcore. ’68 quickly came to fruition with Scogin on vocals and guitar, while his hometown friend Michael McClellan handles drums. We gave you the ability to hear the song “Track Two” a few weeks ago, although, as you will see, it’s going to take some extra effort to hear the whole song.


Sonic Syndicate, Sonic Syndicate (Nuclear Blast)


Sonic Syndicate’s self-titled fifth album is a multitude of first experiences for the Swedish band. This is their first album as a four-piece group, their first with only one vocalist, and their first with only one member of the Sjunnesson family in the lineup. However, the band has nowhere to look but up after 2010’s We Rule the Night, so fans will have to hope that so many changes don’t hurt the band as they attempt to re-establish themselves. You can check out the video for “Before You Finally Break” to hear what the new Sonic Syndicate sounds like (with some help from Soilwork vocalist Bjorn “Speed” Strid).


The Hell, Groovehammer (Prosthetic)


If you’re like most people, your first exposure to UK punk rockers The Hell came last week, when they called out two bands on social media and won the hearts and minds of Internet denizens everywhere. Besides being funny with their responses to current events in the metal world, The Hell also knows how to write some damn good punk. Just check out the video for “Bangers & Mosh” to see for yourself.


Amberian Dawn, Magic Forest (Napalm)


Magic Forest is the sixth album from Finnish symphonic metal group Amberian Dawn. It is also their first album of new material with new vocalist Päivi Virkkunen, known simply as “Capri” onstage. Capri replaced Heidi Parviainen in 2012, and re-recorded vocals on a number of older songs for the band’s 2013 release Re-Evolution. Check out the video for the title track to hear what the band’s new original material sounds like with Capri’s vocals.


Monuments, The Amanuensis (Century Media)


Monuments is a UK-based five-piece that plays progressive metal and djent. Much in the same style as Periphery, the band got a big boost when they added former Periphery vocalist Chris Barretto to their lineup. The Amanuensis is the band’s second album, and the follow-up to their 2012 debut Gnosis. Obviously give them a listen if you like Periphery, but fans of TesseracT, Volumes, Structures, and other like-minded bands will also find lots to love here.



Next Week: Witness the triumphant return of a band that many thought would never come back following a tragedy. That and mo

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categorised in: Columns, New & Noteworthy