Guest Appearances Confirmed For Devin Townsend’s “Deconstruction”

Posted by on March 31, 2011

We already knew that Devin Townsend was collaborating with The Dillinger Escape Plan’s Greg Puciato and ex-Emperor guitarist Ihsahn for his new solo album Deconstruction (one of two new albums under the Devin Townsend Project moniker). Townsend also teased in the past months about other big named collaborations. But now we can confirm who indeed will be making special guest appearances on the album.

Along with Puciato and Ihsahn, Mikael Åkerfeldt (Opeth, Bloodbath), Tommy Rogers (Between The Buried And Me), Oderus Urungus (GWAR), Paul Masvidal (Cynic), Fredrik Thordendal (Meshuggah), and Floor Jansen (After Forever, Revamp) will be making guest appearances on Deconstruction. These names may not be too huge of a shocker in that Townsend has worked or toured with a majority of them in some fashion. Nonetheless, this is awesome news and makes us even more excited for Townsend’s new music. Townsend had already promised that Deconstruction was going to be a heavy album (while Ghost, the second album, is reportedly his “prettiest, most mellow” record to date). Now, after seeing these names attached, it’s safe to say that we won’t be disappointed.

In case you need more to get you pumped up about this, has posted a detailed track-by-track review of Deconstruction. The review also gives you a sneak peak as to which songs each guest musician will be featured on. A North American release date for both albums (Deconstruction and Ghosts) is still unconfirmed, though both are set to be released on June 20 via InsideOut Music in Europe.


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categorised in: Awesome Collaborations