Photo By Shawn Brackbill


Myrkur (Amalie Bruun) has announced her new album Folkesange will be released on March 20th via Relapse Records. The follow-up to 2017’s Mareridt will take listeners on an emotional ride based on today’s turbulent times. Once again, her third album will continue to blend black metal with traditional folk and you can hear it in the new song “Ella.”


Myrkur comments:   

“The result of years of studying, playing and listening to traditional Nordic folk music. This is my version of a new folk-song, with roots planted in history and in the past. It is my ode to mankind and our connection with nature – a rite of passage as a woman and a rebirth-ritual in the sea.

Three years ago I decided to share a video where I performed an old Scandinavian folk-song on the nyckelharpa. After this I realized that I had a strong need to create an album within this universe and that other people also wished to hear this. So I started working on picking out what old songs to reinterpret as well as write my own version of this. Ella is this.”


Listen to “Ella” below and pre-order the album here:





01) Ella

02) Fager som en Ros

03) Leaves of Yggdrasil

04) Ramund

05) Tor i Helheim

06) Svea

07) Harpens Kraft

08) Gammelkäring

09) House Carpenter

10) Reiar

11) Gudernes Vilje Vinter


Check out the below artwork by Hans Dahl: