Devil Sold His Soul stream “The Narcissist” music video

Posted by on January 29, 2021


Devil Sold His Soul have unveiled a new music video for their song, “The Narcissist” from their upcoming album, Loss, which drops April 9th via Nuclear Blast. The band resurfaced back in December with their first single, “Beyond Reach” and now will release their first album with both Ed Gibbs and Paul Green dueling on vocals. Previously, Gibbs left the band in early 2013 and Green assumed vocal duties.

Green spoke about the meaning of the single and how the idea came to be,

“‘The Narcissist’ is our heaviest track on the new record. It was written about the negative and disruptive people we have in our lives from time to time. It’s a middle finger to their unapologetic attitude and their inability to grasp reason or logic. It seems the world has spawned a lot of these types of people lately and this one’s for them.
We started capturing elements for thzis track 3 years ago during our shows in Japan. Jonny our guitarist/producer, recorded the dissonant warning bells from the train station in Tateishi where we were staying. It’s a really cool memory from our time out there and to have it on the track just adds something special for us, it takes us back to that time and place every listen.

He also spoke about working with Olli Appleyard on the music video,

We worked with the super talented Olli Appleyard on the music video for this track. Oli has an incredible imagination and some techniques and style that are completely unique to him, which we love. The main focus was to make the video aggressive, schizophrenic and imposing. ‘Loss’ is a diverse record with many facets, each of the singles we’ve chosen showcases another side of the album’s sound. We hope those who are craving something on the heavier side find satisfaction in this track, there’s something for everyone on this record and we’re excited for you all to hear it on April 9th.”

The album was recorded, engineered, and mixed by guitarist Jonny Renshaw at his UK based Bandit Studios. This will be the band’s follow up to their 2013 Empire of Light.

Loss tracklist:
1. Ardour
2. Witness Marks
3. Burdened
4. Tateishi
5. The Narcissist
6. Beyond Reach
7. Signal Fire
8. Acrinomy
9. But Not Forgotten
10. Loss


Pre-order Loss here and watch “The Narcissist” below!

Tags: , , ,

Categorised in: New Music, Video