Alice Cooper hangs with Eleanor Rigby

Posted by on September 29, 2014


In November, the Paul McCartney tribute album The Art of Paul McCartney will be released. The album features covers of McCartney’s material from the likes of KISS, Def Leppard, The Cure, Sammy Hagar, Perry Farrell, Heart and more. It also features two covers from Alice Cooper. The singer leaves his mark on Paul McCartney’s “Smile Away,” a Wings song, but also covers the Beatles classic “Eleanor Rigby.” What’s it sound like? Well, it sounds more or less like the original. As anyone that’s heard Billion Dollar Babies can attest to, Cooper is no stranger to performing with strings, and there’s no reason to not be faithful to a song a revered as “Eleanor Rigby.”

“We were way influenced by the Beatles’ music, by the great songwriting of Lennon and McCartney”, says Alice. “If you ask Ozzy and Steven Tyler the same thing, you’ll find that there’s a lot of melody in what we all do. We’re always going to be a little more horse-powered than the Beatles were, but we always referred back to those melody lines.”

Here’s the track listing to the album, which will be released on November 18th on Arctic Poppy Records. It can be preordered here.

  1. Billy Joel – Maybe I’m Amazed
  2. Bob Dylan – Things We Said Today
  3. Heart – Band on the Run
  4. Steve Miller – Junior’s Farm
  5. Yusuf Islam – The Long and Winding Road
  6. Harry Connick, Jr. – My Love
  7. Brian Wilson – Wanderlust
  8. Corinne Bailey Rae – Bluebird
  9. Willie Nelson – Yesterday
  10. Jeff Lynne – Junk
  11. Barry Gibb – When I’m 64
  12. Jamie Cullum – Every Night
  13. Kiss – Venus and Mars/Rock Show
  14. Paul Rodgers – Let Me Roll It
  15. Roger Daltrey – Helter Skelter
  16. Def Leppard – Helen Wheels
  17. The Cure, featuring James McCartney – Hello Goodbye
  18. Billy Joel – Live and Let Die
  19. Chrissie Hynde – Let It Be
  20. Cheap Trick’s Robin Zander and Rick Nielsen – Jet
  21. Joe Elliott – Hi Hi Hi
  22. Heart – Letting Go
  23. Steve Miller – Hey Jude
  24. Owl City – Listen to What the Man Said
  25. Perry Farrell – Got to Get You Into My Life
  26. Dion – Drive My Car
  27. Allen Toussaint – Lady Madonna
  28. Dr. John – Let ‘Em In
  29. Smokey Robinson – So Bad
  30. The Airborne Toxic Event – No More Lonely Nights
  31. Alice Cooper – Eleanor Rigby
  32. Toots Hibbert with Sly & Robbie – Come and Get It
  33. B.B. King – On the Way
  34. Sammy Hagar – Birthday

Deluxe/vinyl Edition Bonus Tracks:

  1. Robert Smith – C Moon
  2. Booker T. Jones – Can’t Buy Me Love
  3. Ronnie Spector – P.S. I Love You
  4. Darlene Love – All My Loving
  5. Ian McCulloch – For No One
  6. Peter, Bjorn and John – Put It There
  7. Wanda Jackson – Run Devil Run
  8. Alice Cooper – Smile Away

[via Classic Rock]

Tags: ,

Categorised in: News, Video