Wayne Static Announces New Static-X Lineup, New Tour Dates With Prong Scheduled

Posted by on July 9, 2012

Out with the old, in with the new…ish. We previously reported about Static-X sort of returning, but at the time, the only thing that was known about the new lineup was that Wayne Static would be the only of the original band members in it. However, in an interview with Loudwire, the Static-X puppet master Wayne shed some more light about the reboot.

The new lineup includes Sean “Animal” Davidson on drums, Ashes on guitar, and Brent Ashley on bass. It might be interesting to note that the lineup isn’t entirely new, since all three of the “new” band members have been working with Static on his solo project before. Wayne states that while the chemistry was always good with ex-member Tony Campos onstage, it might be a bit more relaxed offstage this time around:

“We all get along really good actually. It’s kind of a different vibe behind the scenes. As far as onstage, though, it’s all business. We all have a great time as always and put on a great show. This tour in particular, we’re playing a lot of old stuff off of the first two records.”

In case it wasn’t clear, though, that there is no bad blood between Wayne and his former bassist Tony Campos, a handful of Static-X’s dates will include a set from Prong (one of the bands Campos just so happens to play in). Their reunion tour will kick off on August 15, 2012 in El Paso, TX and luckily, quite a few dates have been announced following their inaugural show. Regarding what exactly fans can expect from the tour, Static expresses his desire to go back to the roots:

“I really just wanted to go back to old-school Static-X since the band has been gone for a few years. The last tour I was on I did a lot of my solo stuff, and I’m ready to get back to old-school Static-X stuff, which is actually new again.”

Thoughts about a brand new Static-X record, however, do exist, Wayne has a lot of  ideas but nothing is set in stone (or saved on a hard disk) just yet. For now, it’s all about enjoying the tour which includes shows with Prong, Davey Suicide, and 9 Electric. Find all new tour dates after the jump.

07/15 El Paso, TX – El Paso County Coliseum
07/16 Odessa, TX – Dos Amigos
07/17 Lubbock, TX – Jake’s
07/18 Dallas, TX – Trees
07/19 Houston, TX – Scout Bar
07/21 San Antonio, TX – Backstage Live
07/23 Ft Lauderdale, FL – Revolution
07/24 Tampa, FL – The Orpheum
07/25 Orlando, FL – Beacham Theater
07/26 Knoxville, TN – The Valarium
07/27 Atlanta, GA – The Masquerade
07/30 Norfolk, VA – Norva
08/01 Silver Spring, MD – The Fillmore Silver Spring (feat. Prong)
08/02 Charlotte, NC – The Fillmore Charlotte (feat. Prong)
08/03 Myrtle Beach, SC – House Of Blues (feat. Prong)
08/06 Cincinnati, OH – Bogart’s (feat. Prong)
08/14 Philadelphia, PA – Theatre Of Living Arts (feat. Prong)
08/17 Cleveland, OH – Peabody’s (feat. Prong)
08/18 Detroit, MI – Harpo’s (feat. Huntress)
08/20 New York, NY – Gramercy Theatre (feat. Prong)
08/22 Chicago, IL – House Of Blues (feat. Prong)
08/24 Fort Wayne, IN – Piere’s (feat. Prong)
08/27 Englewood, CO – The Gothic Theatre (feat. Prong, Davey Suicide, 9 Electric)
08/31 Anaheim, CA – House Of Blues
09/01 West Hollywood, CA – House Of Blues
09/02 San Diego, CA – House Of Blues

[via Blabbermouth / ThePRP]


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categorised in: Meet The New Guy, Touring