Six Feet Under pay tribute to Iron Maiden, Judas Priest on new ‘Graveyard Classics’ release

Posted by on April 14, 2016

sixfeetundersixcdThere are bands that obviously shaped the extreme metal sound we know nowadays, like Judas Priest or Iron Maiden. It’s undeniable the influence of the classic heavy metal bands in today’s music and some have set some time and effort to pay their respect to them, like death metal outfit Six Feet Under and their Graveyard Classics series.

Former Cannibal Corpse singer Chris Barnes and company will release their fourth installment on their Graveyard Classics series titled Graveyard Classics IV: The Number of the Priest, paying tribute to old school bands that influenced them as a band, and the newest edition will focus on British legends Judas Priest and Iron Maiden. Barnes states about the release:

“Get ready to have your ears violated and your mind blown! ‘Graveyard Classics IV: The Number Of The Priest’ just crawled out of the Heavy Metal Cemetery!

“Having a good time playing music is what it’s always been about since day one, and that’s what the ‘Graveyard Classics’ albums are to me… a good fucking time! On this trip down memory lane, we cover songs from JUDAS PRIEST and IRON MAIDEN; the two greatest metal bands of all time. Ray Alder from FATES WARNING did a guest background vocal appearance on ‘Invader’, our first single. Ray is a great friend, and an awesome vocalist, and I felt our differences in styles blended well together for the middle section and added some harmony to the rawness. I hope you all enjoy the band’s twist on these legendary songs!”

The album will have five Priest songs on its side A and six Iron Maiden songs on its side B, all handpicked by Metal Blade’s CEO Brian Slagel. The second Graveyard Classics album the band released was them covering AC/DC’s Back in Black. The first and third were various other bands. Check out the track listing below and make sure to pre-order a copy before it’s May 27th release right here.

“Graveyard Classics IV: The Number Of The Priest” track listing

Side A: Judas Priest

01. Night Crawler
02. Starbreaker
03. Genocide
04. Invader
05. Never Satisfied

Side B: Iron Maiden

06. Murders in the Rue Morgue
07. Prowler
08. Flash Of The Blade
09. The Evil That Men Do
10. Stranger In A Strange Land
11. Total Eclipse


Tags: , , , ,

Categorised in: News, Releases, Tributes, Updates