Twelve awesome album updates – 2/25

Posted by on February 25, 2022

photo credit: Anders Plassgard


From Evergrey to Misery Index, here are twelve new album updates


01) New Evergrey album arriving in May:

Evergrey have announced their overall thirteenth studio album. A Heartless Portrait (The Orphean Testament), is scheduled to arrive on May 20th, marking the Swedish dark metal masters’ Napalm Records Debut. The follow-up to 2021’s Escape of the Phoenix, was recorded at Top Floor Studios in Gothenburg, engineered by Jakob Herman and produced by Tom S. Englund and Jonas Ekdahi, with mixing and mastering by Jacob Hansen at Hansen Studios.  To celebrate the album announcement, the band has shared a video for the song “Save Us.”


Tom S. Englund comments:

“’Save Us’ is about us. It’s about you and I. It’s about how I see our minds becoming hostages in a world where painting optimal portraits of ourselves is more important than being who we really are. It’s about my observation of watching people around me who are feeling that they’re not good enough for the world, or for themselves. I’m afraid we’re lost, and I think we need to help each other to find our way back to what is important, to rediscover a true sense of self. As we, as artists, also contribute to content and social media as a livelihood, it’s about the paradox of being caught in a world which is hard to free yourself from. I can only wish that our music brings some balance to that equation.”


On the new album, the band expressed:

“Here it is! A new album! Yet again! This is what we love about music, it never ends! Our mission is to write music so here you are! 10 new songs! 10 new EVERGREY songs that we hope you will have by your side as your life continues to shift and grow. 10 songs that we wish will be part of the soundtrack when you’re creating new memories and new possibilities in your life. 10 songs that we feel privileged to have you listen to. 10 songs that have risen through the ashes of two years where our creativity has had more time than ever to flourish.  10 songs we really hope you will enjoy as much as we did writing them. As usual we have given it our best and we can’t wait to hear what you have to say! A new year, a new album, a new record label = new possibilities. All this can only be positive, right? 


Tom, Jonas, Rikard, Johan & Henrik”


Watch the clip below and pre-order the album here:



Track List:

01) Save Us

02) Midwinter Calls

03) Ominous

04) Call Out the Dark

05) The Orphean Testament

06) Reawakening

07) The Great Unwashed

08) Heartless

09) Blindfolded

10) Wildfires



02) Tool to celebrate 30th anniversary of Opiate:


Photo credit: Travis Shinn


Tool are set to celebrate the 30th anniversary of Opiate by releasing a reimagined and extended version of the EP along with an accompanying short film. Opiate will be released on March 1st, and the Bluray will be available on March 18th. The short film will mark the group’s first video in fifteen years. Visual artist Dominic Hailstone (Alien: Covenant, The Eel) teamed up with guitarist Adam Jones to work on the film. The upcoming Bluray will also include a 46-page art book with behind-the-scenes and making-of photos, interviews, and special guests. Pre-order, the 30th-anniversary edition of Opiate, is available at this location.



Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categorised in: Lists, New Music, News, Releases