New & Noteworthy, May 7: Electricity

Posted by on May 7, 2013

The month of May always brings with it a certain sense of heightened anticipation. It’s the deep breath before the spiraling descent into the madness of the summer months. The festival lineups are set, the release calendar is filled with exciting potential Albums of the Year, and the concert calendar is chock-full of incredible tours. Metalheads learn to revel in the month of May, because it’s the time of preparation for metal’s peak season. I know I’m ready, and I hope you all are too!


Keeping with that theme, today’s album list is lightly stocked with some high-quality material, acting as a primer for the rest of May and the summer months to come. With some of the biggest names in rock and metal preparing albums for release in May, June, and July, we’re slowly ramping up to a very strong period where metal could be the dominant genre on the radio waves. Keep your ears peeled and your eyes open, because you don’t want to miss out on what’s to come!


Sodom, Epitome of Torture (SPV/Steamhammer)


The German veterans are now on their 14th album, and if you can believe it, in 2011 they reached the thirty-year mark of existence. Not bad for one of the bands that was most influential to black metal’s formation and rise to prominence! Epitome of Torture marks the recording debut of new drummer Markus “Makka” Freiwald, who joined the band in 2010. Freiwald took over the drumkit after the departure of longtime skinsman Bobby Schottkowski, who had been with the band for thirteen years, but left following personal and private issues with Tom Angelripper. All indications are that Freiwald has filled the drum role very well, which makes sense for a former session musician for both Moonspell and Rotting Christ. In short, this is yet another top-notch release from the Teutonic thrashers!



Delain, Interlude (Napalm)


Much as this album’s name implies, this is not a release of actual new material. Instead, Delain is offering a “thank you” album of live tracks, covers, remixes, and other bonus material to their fans. This actually makes a lot of sense – Delain has garnered a respectable following in the past few years, following the releases of April Rain and We Are the Others, and part of the reason for that success is the band’s unfailing gratitude and appreciation for their fans, which only makes them look better to other potential new fans. Thus, offering Interlude as a grand gesture of thanks to all fans everywhere only serves to cement their reputation as one of the most grateful and appreciative bands in modern metal, truly valuing their fans in ways that few other bands do. Interlude also comes with a bonus DVD that has live footage, backstage clips, and four music videos for your enjoyment.


Also being released this week:


Gama Bomb, The Terror Tapes (AFM)


Vicious Rumors, Electric Punishment (SPV/Steamhammer)


Rhapsody of Fire, Live – From Chaos to Eternity (AFM)


M:Pire of Evil, Crucified (Cleopatra)


Kingdom Come, Outlier (SPV/Steamhammer)


Atrocity, Okkult (Napalm)


Freedom Call, Ages of Light – 1998-2013 (SPV/Steamhammer)


The Amenta, Flesh is Heir (Listenable)


F.K.Ü., 4: Rise of the Mosh Mongers (Napalm)


Tormented, Death Awaits (Listenable)


Rotting Out, The Wrong Way (6131)


New Keepers of the Water Towers, Cosmic Child (Listenable)



Next Week: With a list that is led off by a leading technical metal act and a veteran death metal squad, next week promises to be one heavy release period! Come on back for more in one week!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categorised in: New Music