Foo Fighters release surprise EP, ‘Saint Cecelia’

Posted by on November 23, 2015

Today brought the release of Saint Cecelia, a surprise five-song EP from Foo Fighters that’s available for free to stream or download. The songs were recorded in October at Austin’s Hotel Saint Cecelia, but on the website where the album can be streamed and downloaded, a note from Dave Grohl states that the terrorist attacks of November 13th in Paris changed the tone of the EP. He’s included a link to donate to the victims of the attacks, many of which were killed or injured at the Eagles of Death metal show at the Bataclan. Here’s Grohl’s note:

19 November 2015

Tonight, Let me begin with a preface to a letter I wrote a few weeks ago from my hotel room in Berlin while on our final tour for this album. I felt the need to write this foreword in light of the heartbreaking tragedies of Nov. 13th, as this project has now taken on an entirely different tone. As has everything, it seems…

The Saint Cecilia EP was put into motion back in October of this year as a celebration of life and music. The concept being that, as our world tour drew to a close this week, we wanted to share our love of both with you in return for everything you have given us.

Now, there is a new, hopeful intention that, even in the smallest way, perhaps these songs can bring a little light into this sometimes dark world. To remind us that music is life, and that hope and healing go hand in hand with song. That much can never be taken away.

To all who were affected by the atrocities in Paris, loved ones and friends, our hearts go out to you and your families. We will return and celebrate life and love with you once again someday with our music. As it should be done.

As for the music, well, it sounds like Foo Fighters, which is great if you like that sort of thing. “Savior Breath” is the most upbeat and, well, metal of the five songs.  It’s pretty noble that they’ve released the EP for free download, with the hopes that most Foo fans will pony up some money towards the victims of the Paris attack. A vinyl version of Saint Cecelia can also be preordered, with an expected ship date of February 2016. Here’s the track listing of the EP:

01 “Saint Cecilia”
02 “Sean”
03 “Savior Breath”
04 “Iron Rooster”
05 “The Neverending Sigh”

Tags: ,

Categorised in: Free Stuff, New Music, News