New & Noteworthy: February 21st – Everybody Loves New Music…

Posted by on February 21, 2020

New & Noteworthy is a weekly column in which we highlight some of the newest rock and metal releases coming out each week. This week features new music from one of the founders of heavy metal itself, Ozzy Osbourne, as well as the new Demons & Wizards, The Amity Affliction, and more. For last week’s new releases you can check out the last New & Noteworthy, and for the latest sales numbers Metal by Numbers. Be sure to follow us on Spotify to get this month’s New & Noteworthy Playlist, updated every Friday with the newest metal releases. 

Hiring season started at the day job this week, so I’m going to be pretty busy with that for the next 3 or so weeks before my next (planned) concert. That should be a good thing, all the extra OT, especially given just how many ridiculous tours have already been announced for 2020.

New Releases

Ozzy Osbourne, Ordinary Man (Epic Records)

Twelfth studio album. England. Heavy metal.

Music Videos: “Under the Graveyard” “Straight to Hell
Singles: “It’s a Raid” “Ordinary Man
Producer: Andrew Watt
Featured guests: Slash, Duff McKagen, Post Malone, Elton John, Charlie Puth, Chad Smith, Tom Morello
Upcoming dates: Cancelled.
Ordinary Man is also available on vinyl.


Demons & Wizards, III (Century Media)

Third studio album from Jon Schaffer (Iced Earth) and Hansi Kürsch (Blind Guardian). US/Germany. Heavy metal.

Music videos: “Wolves in Winter” “Diabolic
Single: “Midas Disease
Our Interview: With Hansi Kürsch & Jon Schaffer.
III is also available on vinyl.


The Amity Affliction, Everyone Loves You…Once You Leave Them (Pure Noise Records)

Seventh studio album. Queensland, Australia. Metalcore. This is the first album to feature drummer Joe Longobardi, who joined the band in 2018.

Music videos: “Forever” “Soak Me In Bleach
Singles: “All My Friends Are Dead
Upcoming Dates: North America, April – May. Europe, February – March.
Everyone Loves You… Once You Leave Them is also available on vinyl.


Biff Byford, School of Hard Knocks (Silver Lining)
Horseneck, Fever Dream (N/A)
Polaris, The Death Of Me (SharpTone Records)
Sightless Pit, Grave Of A Dog (Thrill Jockey Records)
The Word Alive, Monomania (Fearless Records)
Torpëdo, Mechanic Tyrants (Reissue) (Gates Of Hell Records)
Xenobiotic, Mordrake (Unique Leader Records)


Vinyl Releases

Incubus, Light Grenades (Music On Vinyl)
Metal Church, The Human Factor (Music On Vinyl)


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categorised in: Columns, New & Noteworthy