New & Noteworthy: February 14th – Become the New Releases

Posted by on February 14, 2020

New & Noteworthy is a weekly column in which we highlight some of the newest rock and metal releases coming out each week. The year is starting to pick up with releases, and sure as hell tours. This week features new music from Suicide Silence, Kvelertak, comedian Brian Posehn, and more. For last week’s new releases you can check out the last New & Noteworthy, and for the latest sales numbers Metal by Numbers. Be sure to follow us on Spotify to get this month’s New & Noteworthy Playlist, updated every Friday with the newest metal releases. 

Megadeth, Lamb of God, Trivium, In Flames. Deftones, Gojira, Poppy? Rage Against the Machine. These tours were all announced this week, and all coming to me. What is happening right now?! 2020 is shaping up to be a great year for concerts and I’m excited. My wallet… not so much.

New Releases

Suicide Silence, Become The Hunter (Nuclear Blast)

Sixth studio album. Riverside, California. Deathcore.

Music videos: “Melt Down” “Love Me to Death” “Feel Alive” “Two Steps
Upcoming Dates: North America, April – May, with Jinger and Toothgrinder.
Producer: Steve Evetts (The Dillinger Escape Plan, Sepultura, Hatebreed) at The Omen Room 
Mixer: Josh Wilbur (Trivium, Lamb of God, Gojira).
Masterer: Ted Jensen (Pantera, Deftones, Slipknot) at Sterling Sound Studios in Nashville, Tennessee.
Album art by: Adrian Baxter
Become the Hinter is also available on vinyl.



Kvelertak, Splid (Rise Records)

Fourth studio album. Stavanger, Norway. Black n roll. First album to feature vocalist Ivar Nikolaisen.

Music video: “Crack of Doom
Upcoming dates: Europe, February – June



Ihsahn, Telemark (Candlelight Records)

Eighth solo release, first EP. Notodden, Norway. Progressive metal.

Music video: “Stridig
Upcoming dates: North America, September, at ProgPower USA.
Telemark is also available on vinyl.



  Brian Posehn, Grandpa Metal (Megaforce)

Comedian Brian Posehn’s debut heavy metal album. Made in collaboration with Anthrax’s Scott Ian (Scott Ian), Joe Trohman (Fall Out Boy), and Brendon Small (Dethklok).

Features guest appearances by: Corey Taylor ( Slipknot / Stone Sour), Michael Starr (Steel Panther), Johan Hegg (Amon Amarth), Gary Holt (Slayer / Exodus), Chuck Billy (Testament), Steve Souza (Exodus), Kim Thayil (Soundgarden), Jill Janus, and more.
Producer: Jay Rustin
Grandpa Metal
is available on vinyl.


Anvil, Legal At Last (AFM Records)
Archon Angel, Fallen (Frontiers Music s.r.l.)
Black Swan, Shake The World (Frontiers Music s.r.l.)
Blaze Of Perdition, The Harrowing Of Hearts (Metal Blade Records)
Hollywood Undead, New Empire, Vol. 1 (Dove & Grenade Media/BMG)
Jason Kui, Naka (Prosthetic Records)
Necrowretch, The Ones From Hell (Season Of Mist)
Seven Spires, Emerald Seas (Frontiers Music s.r.l.)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categorised in: Columns, New & Noteworthy