Vio-Lence release new music after 29 years, behold “Flesh From Bone”

Posted by on January 11, 2022


Vio-Lence release “Flesh From Bone.” After 29 years, San Francisco thrash metal legends Vio-Lence, return with new music. The new track comes from their upcoming EP, Let The World Burn, their first original release since 1993’s Nothing To Gain. The complete offering arrives on March 4 via Metal Blade Records.

Founding member and guitarist Phil Demmel stated,

“This is the first Vio-Lence song I had written in close to 30 years. I wanted to keep some of those early Eternal Nightmare [debut album, 1988] qualities intact but infuse a lot of what I’ve culled into my songwriting arsenal over the decades. “Flesh From Bone” has the frenetic picking/fingering riffs and the solo trade-offs that are pretty old-school, and I’m also wearing my influences on my sleeve with a few Exodus- and Slayer-inspired riffs.”

Frontman Sean Killian adds:

“‘Flesh From Bone’ reflects on the true suffering of man during the dark ages of history. Laws and rules of people like Vlad The Impaler were not to be broken. If you did, your sentence would be impalement, or worse. To die in battle was to suffer.”

Killian continues: “For 34 years, a creation called ‘Eternal Nightmare’ has been making memories for people around the world. Now, it is time to create some new memories in 2022. I am very proud of the new music we created, and we are fortunate to have worked with some very creative people. Nothing too polished here, unless fragments of glass and broken razor blades are what you consider polished. I love to create, and we hope your heads explode when you hear the new Vio-Lence.”

The line up for Let The World Burn, joining Demmel and Killian are original drummer Perry Strickland, former Overkill guitarist Bobby Gustafson and former Fear Factory bassist Christian Olde Wolbers.


Watch the clip below and pre-order the EP here



Track List:

01) Flesh From Bone
02) Screaming Always
03) Upon Their Cross
04) Gato Negro
05) Let the World Burn



Categorised in: New Music, News, Releases, Video