Subway To Sally share “Was ihr wollt;” new album arriving in March

Posted by on December 16, 2022

photo credit: Heilemania / Pedro Stoehr



German folk rockers Subway To Sally have announced their overall fourteenth full-length effort, Himmelfahrt (eng. Ascension), is scheduled to arrive on March 24, 2023 via Napalm Records. To celebrate the album announcement, the group has shared a video for the first single, “Was ihr wollt (engl. What you want).”  


The group comments:

“The new album marks a turning point. Himmelfahrt represents the ending and a new beginning at the same time. The work on the songs for Himmelfahrt began long before Covid, shortly after the release of the last album Hey!. This album addressed a broken world, the destructive treatment of people with their own kind and the environment in which they live. As the pandemic hit the world, most of the album seemed prophetic and depressing. All the material created up to that point had to be put to the test and was disposed of as outmoded.

 Subway To Sally have always dealt with the dark sides of the human soul with relish. Over the years, a lot of blood has been spilled and murdered for love. But the lust for doom is an attitude that works well when a fully fueled helicopter is waiting on the roof to carry us away from the zombie apocalypse.

 For the first time in thirty years of the band’s history, we had to ask ourselves if it was time to celebrate hope. Hope is fuel for the future, and so many songs on the new album are about departure and journey, about reaching out to others to lead them from the deepest depths into the light. However, the most current events in the world put this hope to a difficult test. This explains the downer, the bitterness that clouds hope. That’s why even God had to say a word on the album, to vent his own disappointment in his work.”


Watch the clip below and pre-order the album here:


Track List:

01) Was ihr wollt

02) Leinen los

03) Weit ist das Meer

04) So tief

05) Gaudens in domino

06) Gott spricht

07) Auf dem Hügel

08) Autumn

09) Eisbrecher

10) Halt

11) Ihr kriegt uns nie

12) Lasst die Himmel fall’n



Categorised in: New Music, News, Releases, Video