photo credit: Litch


Samurai metal outfit Ryujin are set to release their self-titled album on January 12, 2024, via Napalm Records. Initially formed in 2011 as Gyze, the band blends heavy metal and intricate guitar work, incorporating both Japanese and English lyrics. The album, produced by Matthew Kiichi Heafy of Trivium, features traditional Japanese elements alongside high-speed riffs and breakneck guitar descents. Today (9th), the group has shared a video for their latest single, “The Rainbow Song,” featuring Heafy. 


Ryoji Shinomoto comments:

“We are very proud of this song. The song is a fusion of Japanese 90s anime songs and power metal. We all absolutely love it! The video features nature footage of my hometown, Hokkaido, and Ainu tribal costumes, as I am very proud of the beautiful nature we have here. Matt arranged the lyrics, which were originally written about trout, and he also sings the chorus with me! Also, it’s the first song without growls and you can also hear my first high tone shout before my solo! “


Heafy adds:

“RYUJIN is a band who will take over the world. ‘The Rainbow Song’ is a track that I believe will bridge the gap, taking a whole new slew of fans to become RYUJIN-devotees. You’ll find yourself singing along by the first listen.”


Watch the clip below and pre-order the album here


Track List: 

01) Hajimari

02) Gekokujo

03) Dragon, Fly Free

04) Raijin & Fujin

05) The Rainbow Song

06) Kunnecup

07) Scream of the Dragon

08) Gekirin

09) Saigo No Hoshi

10) Ryujin

11) Guren No Yumiya

12) Saigo No Hoshi (feat. Matthew K. Heafy) (Single Edit)