Possessed to release first album in over thirty years, streaming new song “No More Room in Hell”

Posted by on March 15, 2019

It’s been a great month for death metal as the Decibel Tour just wrapped up that featured legends  Cannibal Corpse, Morbid Angel, and Immolation. Additionally, there’s been a new study that proves the brutal genre brings joy, not violence. And now, the first name in death metal, Possessed, have announced they will release their first album in over three decades with Revelations of Oblivion. The overall follow-up to 1986’s Beyond the Gates will be released on May 10th via Nuclear Blast.

The group commented about their return:

“This album from start to release has been a fantastic experience. All of us in Possessed hope you enjoy this newest release and we look forward to touring and creating much more new music in the future. We appreciate all of your support and dedication.Hope to see you during our upcoming tours & shows soon. Thank you to each and every one of you for your inspiration and dedication to Possessed.”

~ In Fire & Hell ~ Jeff Becerra & POSSESSED

The record was recorded at NRG studios and Titan Studios with Jeff Becerra as executive producer and Daniel Gonzalez as co-producer. As though their return couldn’t get any better, the mixing and mastering was handled by the one and only, Peter Tägtgren (Hypocrisy, Pain, Bloodbath) at Abyss Studios in Sweden. The album artwork was created by polish artist Zbigniew Bielak (Paradise Lost, Absu, Deicide, Ghost, Gorguts) which he created a piece that “brought back the notion of true fear that was once associated with the idea of evil.”

The group commented on their experience working with Tägtgren

“Working with Peter was a fantastic experience. We put a great deal of thought into who we wanted to produce our new album. Since we hadn’t made an all-new material release in well over 30 years, it was essential that we found the right person. Peter’s name kept coming up over and over, and after speaking with my bandmates they all really liked Peter as he is more organic, and somebody we felt would fit in well with our process.”

To celebrate the groups return, the’ve unleashed a visualizer for the first single “No More Room in Hell.”

Check out the visualizer below and pre-order the album here:

Track List:

  1. Chant Of Oblivion
  2. No More Room In Hell
  3. Dominion
  4. Damned
  5. Demon
  6. Abandoned
  7. Shadowcult
  8. Omen
  9. Ritual
  10. The Word
  11. Graven
  12. Temple Of Samael


Categorised in: New Music, News, Releases, Video