Korpiklaani drop new single “Leväluhta,” announce new album

Posted by on October 23, 2020


Korpiklaani have announced their new album, Jylhä (Majestic), will be released on February 5th via Nuclear Blast Records. Today (23rd), these Finnish folk metal titans have shared a taste of the record with a music video for the first single “Leväluhta.” The follow-up to 2018’s Kulkija (“The Wanderer”), continues the group’s journey with tales of folklore, nature, celebration, and of course, three stories of murder, including the Lake Bodom murders. 


Frontman Jonne comments:

“‘Jylhä is not just a battering heavy metal record, it’s also our most volatile full-length album to date. For example, some of the new songs feature energetic punk rock influences and there are even some audible laid-back reggae-rhythms, like our first single, Leväluhta.”


According to the press release shares the meaning behind the new track:

“Leväluhta (or Levänluhta) is a spring in Isokyrö. The remains of approximately a hundred Iron Age bodies have been found buried there, and it remains unclear why the deceased were laid to rest in the spring. In the story, the narrator himself is one of the buried, floating in the lap of clear water beyond time and knowledge. The video tells us a fictional story about what may have happened in the mystical Leväluhta…”


Watch the clip below:


Track List:

01) Verikoira
02) Niemi
03) Leväluhta
04) Mylly
05) Tuuleton
06) Sanaton maa
07) Kiuru
08) Miero
09) Pohja
10) Huolettomat
11) Anolan aukeat
12) Pidot
13) Juuret




Categorised in: News, Releases, Video