Konvent return with new single “Grains;” sophomore album arriving in March

Posted by on January 13, 2022

photo: Sebastian Apel

Included in Metal Insider’s Five new female artists/bands who made waves in metal in 2020, Danish blackened death doom metal outfit Konvent are back! The quartet have announced their new album, Call Down The Sun, will be released on March 11th via Napalm Records. The new album was recorded and mixed by Lasse Ballade at Ballade Studios, Copenhagen and mastered by Brad Boatright at Audiosiege Studio. To celebrate the follow-up to their merciless debut, 2020’s Puritan Masochism, the group has unveiled a video for the first single, “Grains.”  


Vocalist Rikke Emilie List comments:

“‘Grains’ is about realizing the repetition of self-destructive patterns and not knowing how to break out of that cycle. It is the first KONVENT song containing Danish lyrics, as we felt like the song called for it.

In our search for a video producer, we found Martin Goltermann and we quickly shared the same vision for the video; atmospheric shots of sand and the sea reflecting the lyrics and a black-haired woman’s journey. As we were in a hurry, Julie had to step in and embody the part of the woman. After two days of shooting by the windy coast and in our cold rehearsal space, Martin wanted to go out again with Julie to get a few final shots. However, it had been snowing during the night and he managed to capture these beautiful shots of Julie gliding through the winter landscape. We loved it so much that we scrapped all the other footage.”


Watch the clip below and pre-order the album here




01) Into The Distance

02) Sand Is King

03) In The Soot

04) Grains

05) Fatamorgana

06) Interlude

07) Never Rest

08) Pipe Dreams

09) Harena




Categorised in: New Music, News, Releases, Video