Photo Credit: Sam Jämsen

Amorphis guitarist Tomi Koivusaari has unveiled his long-awaited solo project, BJØRKØ, and teased the upcoming album, Heartrot, set to release in December 2023 via Svart Records. The album features an array of guest vocalists, including Carcass’ Jeff Walker, in the debut single, “The Heartroot Rots.” Koivusaari, known for his role in Amorphis, explores his unique artistic vision in BJØRKØ. The album, 15 years in the making, finally came to life during the pandemic-induced pause in touring. It features a diverse lineup of vocalists, creating a rich, multi-layered atmosphere.


Half of the lyrics were written by Koivusaari’s old Abhorrence bandmate Jussi “Juice” Ahlroth, as he explained:

“Me and Jussi worked on the themes of the lyrics together, and he turned them skilfully into text: a lot left for the imagination and open to many interpretations. Some of the singers (Mariska, Ismo Alanko, Jessi Frey and Addi Tryggvason) wrote their own lyrics while the rest (Stian Thoresen, Jeff Walker, Petronella Nettermalm, Marko Hietala and Tomi Joutsen) interpret Ahlroth’s lyrics. The album was produced by my longtime friend Nino Laurenne. It’s a collection of various songs and points of view. I didn’t want a traditional approach to limit my artistic expression.”


Heartrot is described as an emotional panorama, with each track capturing a unique sentiment as Koivusaari described it as: 

“A soundtrack to an imaginary film. Replete with a strong visual connection to nature and an ever-present sense of melancholy. Heartrot is a personal vision that’s naturally influenced by all the music I have subjected myself to over the years. It is, in a way, a soundtrack to an imaginary film. Musically the album’s guiding themes are a strong visual connection to nature and moods that are rarely happy or positive. Melancholy is always looming in the background.” 


Watch the music video for “The Heartroot Rots” below and pre-order the album here