Gojira share “Born For One Thing” video; officially announce new album ‘Fortitude’

Posted by on February 17, 2021


Finally! The long wait is over for Gojira fans as these metal masters have announced their new album, Fortitude, which will be released on April 30th via Roadrunner Records. While the world seems uncertain as to when life will return to normal, we can definitely thank the fantastic list of new albums expected to arrive, and now, Gojira has been bumped to the top of our list. The group has been teasing us about a follow-up to 2016’s Magma since at least 2019, and today, the band has given us another treat by unveiling the Charles De Meyer-directed video for the song “Born For One Thing.” The track is everything you’d expect from these giants and more. 


Vocalist/guitarist Joe Duplantier comments:

“We have to practice detaching ourselves from everything, beginning with actual things,” vocalist / guitarist Joe Duplantier says of the song’s anti-consumerist message, which was partially inspired by the Tibetan and Thai philosophers he read in his youth back in France.  “Own less possessions, and give what you don’t need away, because one day we’ll have to let everything go, and if we don’t, we’ll just become ghosts stuck between dimensions.”


Fortitude was recorded and produced by Joe Duplantier at Silver Cord Studio, Gojira’s Ridgewood, Queens headquarters, and Andy Wallace (Nirvana, Rage Against the Machine) mixed the record. “Another World,” the track released last summer, will also be featured on the album. 

Watch the clip for “Born For One Thing” below and pre-order the album here:


Track List:

01) “Born For One Thing”

02) “Amazonia”

03) “Another World”

04) “Hold On”

05) “New Found”

06) “Fortitude”

07) “The Chant”

08) “Sphinx”

09) “Into The Storm”

10) “The Trails”

11) “Grind”






Categorised in: New Music, News, Releases, Video