Former Trouble vocalist, the late Eric Wagner releases lyric video for posthumous track “In the Lonely Light of Mourning”

Posted by on February 8, 2022


Fromer Trouble vocalist Eric Wagner passed away from complications of Covid 19 in Las Vegas on August 22, 2021, at the age of 62. Before his tragic passing, Wagner completed work on a solo album, a lifelong dream of the artist. In The Lonely Light Of Mourning will be released posthumously on March 18 on Cruz Del Sur Music, in North America, and in Europe on March 4. The official lyric video for the title track, “In The Lonely Light Of Mourning” can be seen by scrolling down. The song features a guest solo from Place of Skulls/ex-Pentagram guitarist Victor Griffin.

Dave Snyder, who co-wrote the entire album with Wagner, had this to say:

“The title track is lyrically foreboding musically, vocally raw and emotional. It’s intentionally spacious. We talked about the ‘less is more’ approach,’ leaving space to breathe. When we were putting this one together, Eric said once the chorus kicks in, ‘it’s gut-wrenching.’ I love that! Being a huge fan of Eric and Victor’s work, I was ecstatic when Eric told me Victor was on board for this one. I’m not sure it gets much heavier than those two together! To be a part of that is a complete privilege and honor. I am forever grateful.”

Griffin adds:

“I think it turned out great, and the song really means a lot, especially under the circumstances. It reminds me…I was working on the solo one evening and texted Eric to tell him how much I liked the song…the lyrics, his emotional vocal melody, and all the other instrumentation. He came back and said, ‘I picked that one for you for a reason.’ It seems as odd now as it did then, but we both just left it at that. I never replied back about what he meant, and he never offered an explanation…it was never brought up again. For whatever reason, I guess we both had peace with ending the conversation that way. I still think about it sometimes but feel good about how we left it. I guess I’ll know the reason when it’s time.”

In The Lonely Light Of Mourning also features former Trouble bassists Ron Holzner and Chuck Robinson, who played rhythm guitars. Recorded at Alpha Sound Services and Aardvark Recording, In The Lonely Light Of Mourning was completed and delivered to Cruz Del Sur Music a month before Eric’s untimely passing. Initially scheduled for a November 2021 release, Cruz Del Sur Music — in cooperation with Eric’s manager, Mike Smith — agreed to move the release date to March 2022 to give it the attention it deserves.



Track List:

01) Rest In Place
02) Maybe Tomorrow
03) Isolation
04) If You Lost It All
05) Strain Theory
06) Walk With Me To The Sun
07) In The Lonely Light Of Mourning
08) Wish You Well


Tags: ,

Categorised in: New Music, News, Video