Photo credit: Ekaterina Gorbacheva


Legendary drummer Dave Lombardo has announced that his debut solo album, Rites of Percussion, will arrive on May 5th via Ipecac Recordings. The 13-track album is a testament to Lombardo’s unparalleled skill and experience showcasing his talent for producing powerful percussion-driven music. The album’s lead single, “Journey of the Host,” was released today, a preview for what’s to come. With drums at the focus, it was simple to Lombardo with creating the new album, which features a diverse array of instruments, including a concert bass drum, timpani, grand piano, shakers, maracas, gongs, Native American drums, congas, and more. Lombardo’s son, David A. Lombardo, mixed the album in early 2022, adding an extra layer of familial creativity to the already impressive collection of tracks.


Lombardo comments:

“[Mike] Patton originally gave me the idea as far back as 1998. He introduced me to Tito Puente’s Top Percussion album. I was already familiar with Tito and was a bit shocked that Patton was so musically diverse, and that he surrounded himself with musicians of the same mindset. That inspired me. I have had ideas that I’ve recorded on cassette over the years, but Patton kept insisting that I had to do a ‘drum album.’ So, the idea behind the album is years in the making. I just had to find the right time—for me—to do it. When the pandemic hit, I thought, ‘Well, I can’t tour now,’ “he says. “I immediately started working on the record. It was one of the greatest experiences I’ve ever had. I had my studio, all my drums. Nothing was in storage for once! My home became a place where I could be free and creative. On the one hand, the touring part of my livelihood had been taken away, but on the other, I finally had the time to educate myself on different software and recording techniques. It was a very educational and gratifying experience.”


Watch the clip below and pre-order the album here:

Track List:

01) Initiatory Madness

02) Separation from the Sacred

03) Inner Sanctum

04) Journey of the Host

05) Maunder in Liminality

06) Despojo

07) Interfearium

08) Blood Let

09) Warpath

10) Guerrero

11) Vicissitude

12) Omiero

13) Animismo