Testament Reveal Cover Artwork And Release Date For ‘Dark Roots Of Earth’

Posted by on May 15, 2012

Testament have been working on their follow up to 2008’s The Formation Of Damnation for over a year now. In fact, singer Chuck Billy told us last Fall that they were eyeing a April/May release for the new album, Dark Roots Of Earth. Obviously, that never came to be, but now it looks as though the new Testament album will definitely come out this Summer.

In addition to revealing the kick ass cover artwork seen above, it’s been confirmed that Dark Roots Of Earth will be released in Europe on July 27. Thus, it’ll most likely be released in North America on either July 24 or July 31. Not much else is known about the album, featuring drummer Gene Hoglan (the candidate most likely to join Testament as their permanent new drummer). But since the European release date has been confirmed by their label Nuclear Blast Records, it’s safe to assume that more is to come.

UPDATE: July 31 has been confirmed as the North American release date. Also, the track listing for Dark Roots Of Earth (which includes Iron Maiden, Queen and Scorpions covers as bonus tracks on the deluxe edition) has been revealed and can be seen after the jump.

1.  Rise Up

2. Native Blood

3. Dark Roots Of Earth

4. True American Hate

5. A Day In The Death

6. Cold Embrace

7. Man Kills Mankind

8. Throne Of Thorns

9. Last Stand For Independence

Bonus tracks:

10. Dragon Attack (Queen cover)

11. Animal Magnetism (Scorpions cover)

12. Powerslave (Iron Maiden cover)

13. Throne Of Thorns (extended version)


[Artwork painted by artist Eliran Kantor (Sodom, Sigh, Atheist), via Facebook and Metal Sucks]

Tags: , , ,

Categorised in: Releases