Metallica, Mastodon, And Disturbed’s Record Store Day Releases Revealed

Posted by on March 6, 2012

We a little over a month away from this year’s Record Store Day, a day where bands release limited edition products or albums exclusively via independent record stores across the nation. And a few of Warner Bros. Records’ (and their affiliates) special Record Store Day releases come from three of their biggest acts in metal.

Metallica will be releasing a 12” color vinyl EP of Beyond Magnetic, while Disturbed will release a box set featuring all five of their albums on vinyl. However, the Record Store Day releases that will likely catch most fans’ attention comes from Mastodon. And as it turns out, Feist isn’t the only indie artist they’re covering.

First, though, let’s cover what more information we’ve learned about Mastodon and Feist’s long awaited split. While we’ve previously heard that Mastodon would be covering “A Commotion,” we’ve now learned that Feist has recorded a cover of “Black Tounge.” While it’ll be interesting to hear her take one of The Hunter’s heavier tracks, Feist has already promised that it won’t be a “cute twee cover of a metal song.”

In addition to the Feist split, Mastodon have also reportedly recorded a cover of The Flaming Lips’ “A Spoonful Weighs a Ton” as part of Warner’s Side By Side cover series. While the A side of this 7” baby pink vinyl single will reportedly feature the original version of the song, the B side will include Mastodon’s cover. And if anyone can put their own spin on this spacey experimental rock song, it’s definitely Mastodon.

You can check out more details regarding each of the releases mentioned above after the jump. This year’s Record Store Day will take place on April 21 at select independent stores across the country.

From Warner Bros.’ Press Release:

Disturbed- The Collection (Vinyl Album Box Set):

We are proud to announce the definitive Disturbed vinyl box-set edition, The Collection. A five-album, six-disc offering of the band’s complete studio album discography featuring The Sickness (2000), Believe (2002), Ten Thousand Fists(2005), Indestructible (2008), and Asylum (2010). A career retrospective spanning ten years and 18 Billboard Top 100 hits of sophisticated and life-altering heavy music. For this box set, each album has been carefully mastered and pressed on 140-gram vinyl for the very best in audio quality. Each album has been meticulously showcased in a stunning art presentation that is unique and exclusive to this release. This is a limited edition box of only 2500 units worldwide.

Metallica’ Beyond Magnetic (12” color vinyl EP): Beyond Magnetic consists of four outtakes from the 2008 Death Magnetic sessions and is available for the first time on silver vinyl just for RSD. A potent and exceptionally well-produced example of Metallica’s most recent work, which can hold its own with anything within their vast heavy music cannon. Previously unreleased on vinyl and includes a limited edition Metallica sticker.

Mastodon / Feist-  “A Commotion”/ “Black Tongue” (7” vinyl single): A very exclusive and highly anticipated RSD pressing features Mastodon covering the Feist song “A Commotion,” while Feist covers Mastodon’s “Black Tongue.” A unique and highly buzzed-about Record Store Day prize.

The Flaming Lips / Mastodon- “A Spoonful Weighs A Ton” (7″ baby pink vinyl single): The mighty Mastodon faithfully covers the Lips classic “Spoonful Weighs a Ton,” from The Soft Bulletin album. Ferociously beautiful!

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categorised in: Releases