Leaves’ Eyes reveal new album details for ‘The Last Viking’

Posted by on July 24, 2020



Leaves’ Eyes have announced their new album, The Last Viking, will be released on October 23rd via AFM Records. The follow-up to 2018’s Sign of the Dragonhead marks the finale of their Viking Sagas as it was produced by Alexander Krull at Mastersound Studio. 


The concept behind the album takes place in England in the year 1066 as the press release describes:

“England in the year 1066. The decisive battle near Stamford Bridge. Warriors fighting death, the grounds soaked in blood. Norway’s king Harald III, called Hardrada („the hard ruler“) lies dying. His whole life flashes before his eyes: cruel wars, fights over power, journeys to exotic worlds guiding to powerful women, emperors and kings falling into ruin. The last Viking King is dead – the Vikings’ age is over. Long live the Vikings.

(Partially written by Robert Suß)”


The record will be available in the following formats and you can pre-order your copy here:

2-CD Digipack (Including Instrumental Bonus-CD), 2-CD Digipak – “Collector’s Edition” (Including Instrumental Bonus-CD, alternative cover artwork, and hand signed autograph card), Ltd. Gtf. Vinyl (pinewood green, hazy orange – ltd. to 533 units each) and Ltd. Hardcover Artbook (exclusive cover, 30x30cm, 60 pages, incl. album, „Viking Spirit“ DVD featuring the original film documentary about the growing Viking reenactment scene of which Fronter Alex and the band is part of since many years, Studio Making Of, Official Videoclips, Soundtrack Bonus-CD & handsigned autograph card – limited to 1066 units).


Check out the track listing and cover artwork by Stefan Heilemann (Lindemann, Epica, Kamelot) below:



01) Death Of A King

02) Chain Of The Golden Horn

03) Dark Love Empress

04) Serpents And Dragons

05) Black Butterfly (feat. Clémentine Delauney)*

06) War Of Kings

07) For Victory

08) Two Kings One Realm

09) Flames In The Sky

10) Serkland*

11) Varangians

12) Night Of The Ravens*

13) The Last Viking

14) Break Into The Sky Of Aeon

*Album Versions






Categorised in: News, Releases