Anthrax Reveal Details On Covers EP, “Anthems”

Posted by on January 16, 2013

It’s been long known that Anthrax was recording a handful of covers. However, it was Rob Caggiano who informed us that the covers were to be included as part of Worship Music’s reissue. But as Caggiano’s departure proves, a lot of things can change within the course of a few months. Further proof is that Anthrax have now confirmed plans to release said covers as its own EP.

Titled Anthems, the EP will feature Anthrax’s covers of Rush, Thin Lizzy, AC/DC, Cheap Trick, Boston and Journey. The EP will also feature the album version and a special remix of Anthrax’s own “Crawl.” Also worth noting is that the band’s cover of Boston’s “Smokin’” features keyboards from Fred Mandel (who has played with everyone from Alice Cooper to Elton John, Cheap Trick to Supertramp, and more).

Anthems was produced by Anthrax with Jay Ruston and Rob Caggiano. And this might mark Caggiano’s last contribution to an Anthrax release (at least as a member). Check out the track listing for Anthems, set to be released on digitally and on CD in North America on March 19, after the jump.

1. Anthem (Rush cover)

2. Jailbreak (Thin Lizzy cover)

3. TNT (AC/DC cover)

4. Smokin’ (Boston cover)

5. Big Eyes (Cheap Trick cover)

6. Keep On Runnin’ (Journey cover)

7. Crawl (album version)

8. Crawl (special remix)

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categorised in: Releases