Quick, name the most influential metal band of the last 25 years. We’d be surprised if Pantera wasn’t one of the first bands mentioned. The band’s 1990s output established them as one of the most copied, respected and loved bands of that decade, and they continue to inspire and influence people today. To that end, Rhino is not only releasing all of the band’s albums from Cowboys From Hell on in a boxed set, The Complete Studio Albums: 1990-2000, but are also putting out a single-disc best-of, History of Hostility.

History of Hostility is a nine-track sampler that most Pantera fans likely won’t find essential unless they’re completists or want the short version of “Cemetery Gates” that appeared on the Tales From the Crypt: Demon Knight soundtrack. However, the box set is something that any Pantera fan that doesn’t have all of the albums in one place to pick up. What’s more is that it will be released on vinyl and will come with a 7″ featuring two non-album songs, “Piss,” a Vulgar Display b-side and “Avoid the Light,” originally on the Dracula 2000 soundtrack.  Each album will be a different colored vinyl, too., so the limited edition vinyl set will be a must-own for Pantera fans.

History of Hostility will be out on October 30th, and the box set will be out on December 11th. Here’s the info:


CD & LP Album Listing (vinyl colours noted):

Cowboys From Hell (White Vinyl)
Vulgar Display Of Power (Red Vinyl)
Far Beyond Driven (Blue Vinyl)
The Great Southern Trendkill (Gold Vinyl)
Reinventing The Steel (Orange Vinyl)

Bonus 7” in LP box:

‘Piss’ b/w ‘Avoid The Light’ (Translucent Yellow Vinyl)

‘History Of Hostility’


  1. ‘Cowboys From Hell’
  2. ‘Cemetery Gates’ (Demon Knight Edit)
  3. ‘Mouth For War’
  4. ‘Walk’
  5. ‘Fucking Hostile’
  6. ‘I’m Broken’
  7. ‘5 Minutes Alone’
  8. ‘Drag The Waters’
  9. ‘Revolution Is My Name’