Motörhead, Judas Priest, Nine Inch Nails among Rock & Roll Hall of Fame 2020 nominees

Posted by on October 15, 2019

Motörhead, Judas Priest, Nine Inch Nails, Soundgarden, Todd Rundgren, Thin Lizzy, T. Rex, Kraftwerk, Depeche Mode, and more are the nominees for the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame’s class 2020. The top vote-getters will be announced in January and the induction ceremony will take place on May 2nd, 2020 at Cleveland’s Public Hall.

To be eligible for this year’s ballot, each nominee’s first single or album had to have been released in 1994 or earlier. This marks the third ballot for Nine Inch Nails and Depeche Mode and a second for Judas Priest and Rundgren. Once again, the voter pool consisting of over 1,000 artists, historians, journalists, and members of the music industry will select the new class. Fans will also have a chance to vote at rockhall.com or through an interactive kiosk at the museum in Cleveland.   

Individual members of each band that will be inducted have also been revealed. Pending on those who will be inducted, Trent Reznor will accept the honor alone for Nine Inch Nails. Les Binks, K.K. Downing, Rob Halford, Ian HIll, Dave Holland, Glenn Tipton, and Scott Travis are the only ones on the ballot for Judas Priest. Soundgarden would feature the final lineup consisting of Matt Cameron, Chris Cornell, Ben Shepherd, and Kim Thayil along with original bassist Hiro Yamamoto. 

However, Lemmy Kilmister, “Fast” Eddie Clarke, and Phil “Philthy Animal” Taylor will be honored, leaving guitarist Phil Campbell and drummer Mikkey Dee snubbed.

Tags: , , , , ,

Categorised in: News