Former IKILLYA members form new band, release debut EP

Posted by on January 30, 2020

Former IKILLYA members Jason Lekberg (vocals), Rob Broderick (bass) and Drew Maciejewsk (drums) have formed a new band together. The group is called Nefariant and they just released their debut, self-titled EP.

According to the manifesto on the band’s website:

“Nefariant means to unapologetically be yourself, to see failure as an opportunity, to follow your own path regardless of public opinion. Those who are Nefariant get kicked in the teeth and smile back. It’s knowing that you are not owed anything and nothing can stop you. Nefariant is brutal elegance.  Nefariant is educated rebellion. Nefariant is bad in the best way. We are Nefariant. You are Nefariant. This is Nefariant.”

The EP, released last Thursday (23), is the culmination of three years of hard work creating a sound they wanted to present to the masses.

As reported by Metal Sucks, Lekberg says that the band still has

“a long way to go both creatively and as a band” after “starting at the bottom building this new project.”

Nefariant is rounded out by keyboardist Paul Cibrano and guitarist Dustin Tooker. The band will be playing a handful of shows in the tri-state area over the next couple of months, including two shows at the Kingsland Bar & Grill in Brooklyn, NY February 28 and March 21, and one at Brighton Bar in Long Branch, NJ on March 13. Lies Beneath, Solemn Vision, Final Siege and Rigor Samsa (all of whom also have ties to IKILLYA) will be joining them for the 2/28 show. Tickets for all shows are available now.

Tags: ,

Categorised in: News