Last week Tarja Turunen unleashed a lyric video for her new song “Dead Promises,” taken from her upcoming album In The Raw. However, the LP will include a different version of the track as it will feature guest vocals by Soilwork’s Björn “Speed” Strid. The record will also feature Lacuna Coil’s Cristina Scabbia and Kamelot’s Tommy Karevik.  Now, the legendary vocalist and ex-Nightwish singer has revealed In The Raw will be released on August 30th via earMUSIC.

Turunen explained on the album’s title:

“Gold, we think, is something polished and perfect, sophisticated, a luxury. But in its natural state, it’s a raw element.”

The follow-up to 2016’s The Shadow Self will embrace darker and heavier elements as well as using raw sounds such as her classically trained vocals. The artwork reflects the meaning on her upcoming album as the press release explains it “finds Tarja in St Michael’s Cave, Gibraltar, framed in vivid color and golden sheet.”

Check out the track list below and pre-order In The Raw here:

01) “Dead Promises” Featuring Björn “Speed” Strid

02) “Goodbye Stranger” Featuring Cristina Scabbia

03) “Tears in Rain”

04) Railroads”

05) You And I”

06) “The Golden Chamber”


“Loputon yö”


07) “Spirits of the Sea”

08) “Silent Masquerade” Featuring Tommy Karevik

09) “Serene”

10) “Shadow Play”