Prong debut Bad Brains cover

Posted by on March 10, 2015

On March 31st, Prong will release their covers album, Songs From the Black Hole. The album was recorded during a one-week session in Berlin, Germany, and includes covers by some of the band’s influences, including Fugazi, Bad Brains, Killing Joke, Black Flag and Sisters of Mercy. Today, the band released their cover of Bad Brains’ “Banned in D.C.” And while Prong found themselves looped in with the groove metal scene, they definitely came from the punk scene, as the track listing of the album suggests.

“Prong is very excited about the upcoming release of our new record, ‘Songs From the Black Hole,'” Victor says in a press release. “We are equally excited about the artwork and packaging. With the help of our art director Mike Lopez, the theme of urban decay, desolation, insecurity and ultimate change that prevails in the music has been brought to the surface in images. Since much of Prong’s origins come from a place of abandonment, we feel our new album artwork fully reflects this sentiment. Since the record explores Prong’s roots, musically and geographically, this needed to be expressed visually and this was attained.”

Here’s the track listing:


1. Doomsday (DISCHARGE)
2. Vision Thing (SISTERS OF MERCY)
3. Goofy`s Concern (BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
4. Kids Of The Black Hole (ADOLESCENTS)
5. Bars (BLACK FLAG)
6. Seeing Red (KILLING JOKE)
7. Don`t Want To Know If You Are Lonely (HÜSKER DÜ)
8. Give Me The Cure (FUGAZI)
9. Banned in DC (BAD BRAINS)
10. Cortez The Killer (NEIL YOUNG)


Tags: ,

Categorised in: New Music, News