Prong covers album has the same title as Weezer album

Posted by on November 7, 2014

Prong have announced that they’ll be releasing Songs From the Black Hole, a covers album, on March 31st, 2015. It’s been brought to our attention that the album shares a title with Weezer’s abandoned sophomore album. Only some of the artists that Tommy Victor and friends will be covering have been named, and it’s a safe bet that none of them will be Weezer. Artists that the press release says will be covered are Bad Brains, Sisters of Mercy, Husker Du, Black Flag, Adolescents, Killing Joke and, um, Neil Young. The band will be undertaking a European tour in support of the album. Here’s what Victor said about the tour and album:

Prong is excited to announce 2015 European tour dates in conjunction with our upcoming release “Songs From The Black Hole“. Along with the standards and selected tracks from our newest albums, we will be performing our versions of classic influential masterpieces, as featured on the new record. The tour has us returning to England, remarkably, for four shows after our premier UK festival appearance at Bloodstock. It will also be great to head back to Germany, Switzerland, France, Belgium, Austria and Holland with a new set and another new Prong release, “Songs From The Black Hole“!

Well there you have it. While you probably won’t be getting “Who’s Hash Pipe Is This Anyway?” you’ll still have a prong Neil Young cover to look forward to in March.

Tags: ,

Categorised in: New Music, News