New Adult Swim singles coming from a reunited Sleep, Deafheaven, Mastodon and more

Posted by on June 2, 2014

Adult Swim has always had a great relationship with metal. From the Aqua Teen Hunger Force soundtrack to Metalocalypse, the Cartoon Network’s animation block has represented extreme music on TV better than most cable channels. Aside from that, they’ve had their singles series for the past several years. Each week for 16 weeks, AS release a free single via their website, Soundcloud and YouTube. In the past, they’ve offered new music from Mastodon and Absu. This year, starting on June 9th, the series returns with another diverse lineup, sponsored in part by Xbox One. Producer Giorgio Moroder will kick things off, but the big metal draw is a track from a reunited Sleep. Other highlights will be a track from Mastodon featuring the Butthole Surfers’ Gibby Haynes, Deafheaven, and Diarrhea Planet. Adult Swim On-Air VP Jason DeMarco, who oversees the series is particularly excited about the first new Sleep track in over a decade, calling them “seminal.” We agree.  Check out the full schedule below, courtesy of Billboard.

June 9th – Giorgio Moroder
June 16th – Machinedrum
June 23rd – Destruction Unit
July 4th – Fatima Al-Qadiri
July 7th – Tim Hecker
July 14th – Speedy Ortiz
July 21st – Sleep
July 28th – Future (w/animated video)
August 4th – Diarrhea Planet
August 11th – Oozing Wound
August 18th – Captain Murphy
August 25th – Deafheaven
September 1st – RP Boo
September 8th – Mastodon Feat. Gibby Haynes
September 15th – Run The Jewels
September 22nd – KA

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categorised in: New Music, News