HBO releases Catch the Throne The Mixtape Vol 2

Posted by on March 13, 2015

We knew that Catch the Throne: The Mixtape Vol. 2 was coming, and we knew it was coming before the April 12 premiere of the fifth season of Game of Thrones on HBO. Then Mastodon became the first band to unveil a full track from it, when the beautiful “White Walker” was released earlier this week. While it had been said online that the mixtape would be released next week, HBO surprised everyone and released the free sampler via iTunes late last night.


We’ve already been raving about Mastodon’s contribution to the mixtape, but we’re also really digging Killswitch Engage, Anthrax and Mushroomhead’s tracks as well. Fun fact, according to producer Jay Ruston, Anthrax had initially recorded “Soror Irrumator” for its new album. “During the recording, this Game of Thrones thing popped up, this mixtape,” Ruston told us. “Luckily, one of the songs  that was already on the list that we all loved fit perfectly, and just needed the lyrics to be adjusted slightly.” Meanwhile, its pretty clear that Mushroomhead wrote their song with the show in mind just by looking at its title.

Head over to iTunes now to hear the mixtape for yourself. Here’s the track listing:

  1. Method Man – The Oath
  2. MNDR – Run for Cover
  3. Ty Dolla $ign – Never Back Down
  4. Killswitch Engage – Loyalty
  5. Kap G – Surrender Now
  6. Melanie Fiona – Fight Through It
  7. Snoop Dogg – Lannister’s Anthem
  8. Yandel – Marcando Territorio
  9. Anthrax – Soror Irrumator
  10. Estelle – Let Me Go
  11. Talib Kweli – Lord of the Light
  12. Mastodon – White Walker
  13. Raquel Sofia – Legends
  14. Stalley – All Mine
  15. Mushroomhead – Among the Crows​

Tags: , , , , ,

Categorised in: New Music, News