Goatsnake pay a visit to grandpa jones

Posted by on May 20, 2015

The most recent material from Goatsnake was their 2004 EP, Trampled Under Hoof, so it’s been a real treat to hear two new songs in recent weeks; “Black Age Blues” and “Elevated Man.” Now the band has unleashed another brand new track on our eager ears, this one being, “Grandpa Jones”

Said guitarist Greg Anderson in a recent  interview with LA Weekly:

“I was 30 years old when Goatsnake made our last record. Our lives have totally changed since then. I thought it would be an interesting experiment to see what a Goatsnake record would sound like after the experiences we have all had over the last 15 years, professionally and personally.”

The backing vocals are by Dem Preachers Daughters, who are featured throughout the nine-track album. Black Age Blues comes out on June 2nd on Southern Lord Recordings, which was co-founded by Anderson.

The LA-based band will be making their first-ever east coast appearance at Maryland Deathfest on May 24th, then heading to Temples Festival in the UK to play with Sunn O))) (another project that counts Anderson as a member), and Today Is The Day on May 30th.

Goatsnake  track listing:

1. Another River To Cross
2. Elevated Man
3. Coffee & Whiskey
4. Black Age Blues
5. House Of The Moon
6. Jimi’s Gone
7. Graves
8. Grandpa Jones
9. A Killing Blues


(via Metal Hammer)

Tags: , , ,

Categorised in: New Music, News