Enslaved guitarist Ivar Bjørnson announces Bardspec debut release

Posted by on March 16, 2017

During the beginning of the holiday season last year, and before the departure of Enslaved keyboardist Herbrand Larsen, the band held a special by Norse event celebrating their 25th anniversary in NYC. It was during their intimate performance at the Scandinavia House, the day before their show at the Gramercy Theatre, guitarist Ivar Bjørnson introduced his ambient project Bardspec to the intimate crowd. Now, a few months later, the current full-fledged band announced the release of their debut album Hydrogen out June 23 via By Norse in all available formats.

The band announced the following on their Facebook:

“We will release our debut album “Hydrogen” on June 23rd on ByNorseMusic!

BardSpec is the Ambient project/band from Enslaved composer/guitaristIvar Bjørnson Official. This June, By Norse will release the debut album “Hydrogen”. Having launched at Roadburn in 2015, BardSpec has since evolved into a fully fledged band, with Steve Austin (Today is the Day) on guitars/effects, David Hall presenting the live visual aspect of the project, with the layout created by Josh Graham (Soundgarden, Neurosis, IIVII, etc.)

Our music combines stirring, hallucinatory synth-sounds with mercurial guitar effects and hypnotic rhythms that navigate illusory landscapes. Field recordings, and other found-sounds also drift and evaporate into the ether. Working intuitively with these elements and with sharpened senses, attuned to inner impulses, this is immersive music, that can exist anywhere, and anytime within the minds of the listener.

Whilst BardSpec might essentially be the same brain and personality making the music, compared to Enslaved, it is a widely different entity. Thematically and sonically, BardSpec is about minimising, subtracting and meditating upon the simplest essence of “things”; the single points: exemplified through the song titles, like “Bone”, “Salt” and so on, the basic elements and foundations that make up the whole. There is an element of “space” in the music, and the artwork, as a representation of the inner workings of the mind and the subconscious.

Inspired by the German masters Tangerine Dream, Klaus Schultze, Conrad Schnitzler as well as contemporary ambient music like Norwegian one-man-band Biosphere and abstract modern electronic music like When (Norwegian also), as well as the electronic/industrial-driven metal like Godflesh. Ivar describes the appeal and trance-inducing aspects of such music to him, “I remember listening to Richard Burmer and his album “Mosaic” from 1984. I thought I fell asleep but I was in a semi-lucid state where I still registered music – but not much else. At the end of side A there’s an explosion so violent and extreme that I jumped two feet into the air and was totally shocked. The weird thing is, I couldn’t remember it being there. When I revisited the music again it was just a little “thud”. I was just experiencing a trance so deep into the music that this deviation from the pattern and frequencies in the foregoing half hour of monotony totally shocked me. I loved it!”

Roadburn Festival play host to a very special public listening session of our debut album “Hydrogen”, a chance for people to hear the album from start to finish in advance of the official release date. This event shall take place on 21st April. More information on the Roadburn website.


  1. Intro – Deposition
  2. Bone
  3. Fire Tongue
  4. Gamma
  5. Salt
  6. Teeth (bonus track)

Hydrogen shall be released on 23 June across all formats. The 6-panel CD digipak is available as limited first press to 1000 including bonus track “Teeth”. The double gatefold LP is limited to 500 black vinyl, and the digital format also including the bonus track.”

Tags: , ,

Categorised in: New Music, News, Releases