Enslaved unleash “Congelia” video; new album arriving in March 2023

Posted by on November 21, 2022


Enslaved have announced their new album, Heimdal, is scheduled to arrive on March 3, 2023, via Nuclear Blast. To celebrate the announcement, the group shared an emotive, environmental video for the song “Congelia.” Their 16th full-length effort was produced by the band’s own Ivar Bjørnson, Iver Sandøy and Grutle Kjellson. Mixed by Jens Bogren at Fascination Street Studios and mastered by Tony Lindgren. 


Enslaved’s Ivar Bjørnson & Grutle Kjellson commented:

“It’s quite weird, yet pretty awesome that we are now talking about the release of our 16th album; yes our 16th full-length album release. That’s not too shabby for a couple of scallywags from rural western Norway, is it? If you count our stint in the short lived Phobia-act, we have been playing together for no less than 32 years! In all these years, Norse mythology has been our umbilical cord to the realms of mysticism and philosophy, and our gateway to the realms of deep psychology and the esoteric worlds beyond. One of the most fascinating characters of our mythology is HEIMDAL, and he has been lurking around in our minds like an enigma for three decades now. His first appearance was in a song called ‘Heimdallr’ on our demo tape ‘Yggdrasill’ back in 1992, and he’s had both minor and more significant roles in our lyrical universe over the years. This time we have decided to dedicate an entire body of work to this most enigmatic of characters and richest of archetypes – we give you ‘HEIMDAL’. We have reached deeper and scouted further ahead than ever before – the past, present and future sound of the band comes together in songs born from sheer inspiration – it is the common force of a close-nit group of friends and musicians.”


Watch the clip below and pre-order the album here



Track List:

01) Behind The Mirror

02) Congelia

03) Forest Dweller

04) Kingdom

05) The Eternal Sea

06) Caravans To The Outer Worlds

07) Gangandi (Bonus Track)*

08) Heimdal





Categorised in: New Music, News, Releases, Video