New & Noteworthy: May 29th, 2020 – Fields of New Music

Posted by on May 29, 2020

New & Noteworthy is a weekly column in which we highlight some of the newest rock and metal releases coming out each week. The week features the new releases from Alestorm, Behemoth, and more! For last week’s new releases you can check out the last New & Noteworthy, and for the latest sales numbers Metal by Numbers. Be sure to follow us on Spotify to get this month’s New & Noteworthy Playlist, updated every Friday with the newest metal releases.

Quarantine Week 182: Somehow even more tired. I have 1 concert left on the calendar for 2020, it’s in October and I’m not hopeful.

New Releases 

Alestorm, Curse Of The Crystal Coconut (Napalm Records)
Sixth studio album. Perth, Scotland. Pirate metal.

Music videos: “Tortuga” “Treasure Chest Party Quest
Producer, mixer, masterer: Lasse Lammert at LSD Studios in Lübeck, Germany.
Artwork by: Dan Goldsworthy 
Guest: “Chomp Chomp” ft Vreth of Finntroll, “Tortuga” ft Captain Yarrface of Rumahoy
Curse of the Crystal Coconut is also available on vinyl.


Behemoth, A Forest (Metal Blade Records)
Tenth EP. Gdansk, Poland. Black / Death metal.

Music video: “A Forest
Guest: “A Forest” ft Niklas Kvarforth of Shining.
Our Review: “very positive” –  Jeff Podoshen



Grave Digger, Fields Of Blood (Napalm Records)
Twentieth studio album. Gladbeck, Germany. Heavy metal.

Music video: “Thousand Tears” “Lions of the Sea
Lyric video: “All for the Kingdom
Guest: “Thousand Tears” ft Noora Louhimo of Battle Beast.
Trailer: “Fields of Blood (Track by Track pt 1)
Fields of Blood is also available on vinyl.


Sorcerer, Lamenting Of The Innocent (Metal Blade Records)
Third full length album. Stockholm, Sweden. Epic doom metal.

Music videos: “The Hammer of Witches” “Deliverance” “Dance with the Devil
Streamed album release party: “Lamenting of the Innocent
Trailers: “The Making Of pt 1” “The Making Of pt 2
Mixer & masterer: Ronnie Björnström
Guests: “Deliverance” ft Johan Langquist of Candlemass, and Swedish cellist Svante Henryson.


Astralborne, Eternity’s End (Prosthetic Records)
Bleed From Within, Fracture (Century Media)
Centinex, Death In Pieces (Agonia Records)
Def Leppard, Def Leppard: London To Vegas (Eagle Rock Entertainment)
Lesser Glow, Nullity (Pelagic Records)
Many Blessings, Emanation Body (Translation Loss Records)
Morbid Angel, Altars Of Madness (Ultimate Edition) (Earache Records)
Rush, Permanent Waves (40th Anniversary) (Island Records)
Xibalba, Años En Infierno (Southern Lord Recordings)

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categorised in: Columns, New & Noteworthy