New & Noteworthy: May 28th, 2021 – New Music With No Name

Posted by on May 30, 2021

New & Noteworthy is a weekly column in which we highlight some of the newest rock and metal releases coming out each week. This week features a live Alestorm release, a solo album from Esa Holopainen (Amorphis), an acoustic Gwar EP, and more! For last week’s releases you can read the previous New & Noteworthy, and for the latest sales numbers Metal by Numbers. Be sure to follow us on Spotify to get this month’s New & Noteworthy Playlist, updated every Friday with the newest metal releases.


New Releases

Silver Lake, Silver Lake (Nuclear Blast)
Debut solo album from Amorphis Guitarist Esa Holopainen. Finland. Progressive Metal.

Music videos: “Ray of Light” “Alkusointu” “Storm
Producers: Esa Holopainen, Nino Laurenne at Sonic Pump Studios
Mixer: Nino Laurenne
Masterer: Svante Forsback
Guests: Einar Solberg (Leprous), Tomi Joutsen (Amorphis), Bjorn Strid (Soilwork), Jonas Renkse (Katatonia), Anneke Van Giersbergen, Hakan Hemlin (Nordman), Vesa-Matti Loiri


Alestorm, Live In Tilburg (DVD/Blu-ray) (Napalm Records)
Live album. Various countries. Pirate Metal. 

Live Videos: “Fucked With an Anchor” “Drink” “Full Performance
Other: “The Wellerman – Production and mix breakdown with Elliot Vernon
Live in Tillburg is also available on vinyl.



Gwar, The Disc With No Name (Pit Records)
EP. Richmond, Virginia. Acoustic Shock Rock.

Music video: “Fuck This Place” “I’ll Be Your Monster





Cirith Ungol, Half Past Human (Metal Blade Records)
EP. Ventura, California. Heavy Metal.

Single: “Brutish Manchild
Producer: Armand John Anthony (Night Demon / Bewitcher / Gygax)
Half Past Human is also available on vinyl and Bandcamp.



Alluvial, Sarcoma (Nuclear Blast)
Angstskrig, Skyggespil (Despotz Records)
Burning Witches, The Witch Of The North (Nuclear Blast)
Countime, No Apologies, No Regrets (Demons Run Amok Entertainment)
Engraver, Behind (Wormholedeath)
Khandra All Occupied by Sole Death (Season of Mist Underground Activists)
Kill The Imposter, The Violence Sessions (MVK Records)
Noctule, Wretched Abyss (Translation Loss Records/Church Road Records)
Perturbator, Lustful Sacraments (Blood Music)
Portal, Avow (Profound Lore)
Portal, Hagbulbia (Profound Lore)
Satanic Planet, Satanic Planet (Three One G Records)
Stormruler, Under The Burning Eclipse (Napalm Records)
The Flight Of Sleipnir, Eventide (Eisenwald)
Unfathomable Ruination, Decennium Ruinae (Willowtip Records)


Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categorised in: Columns, New & Noteworthy