New & Noteworthy, May 19th, 2017: Releases Into Infinity

Posted by on May 19, 2017

New & Noteworthy is a weekly column in which we highlight some of the newest rock and metal releases coming out each week. This week features new studio releases from Dragonforce and Papa Roach, a live album/blu-ray from Rammstein, and a whole bunch of Amon Amarth and Iron Maiden vinyl reissues.. If you would like to check out last week’s releases you can do so here. You can also check out last week’s sales numbers in Metal by Numbers.  If you’re not following us on Spotify yet, nothing in particularly bad will happen but I’ll be disappointed with your judgement skills.

Studio Releases

DragonforceReaching Into Infinity (Metal Blade)

Reaching Into Infinity is the seventh studio album from Britain’s Dragonforce. Just like their previous album, Maximum Overload, this album was produced by Jens Bogren (Opeth, Amon Amarth, Angra, etc.) and recorded at Fascination Street Studio in Sweden. Earlier this month the band released a music video for the track “Ashes of the Dawn” music video. First album to feature Gee Anzalone, who replaced the band’s longtime drummer Dave Machintosh, who was with the band since their second album, Sonic Firestorm. Dragonforce will be going on their Reaching Into Infinity World Tour starting in June and, as of right now, going to November. They will be playing about two dozen shows throughout North America.

The Night Flight OrchestraAmber Galactic (Nuclear Blast)

Sweden’s AOR Night Flight Orchestra have released their third album, Amber Galactic. Led by Soilwork’s Björn Strid (Soilwork) on vocals, and featuring David Andersson (Soilwork) on guitar and Sharlee D’Angelo (Arch Enemy) on bass, the band brings out the member’s love for what has become the classic rock sound and aesthetic. They have released a music video for the song “Gemini,” and a lyric video for “Midnight Flyer.” According to Björn, “we hope that after listening to Amber Galactic, you’ll be wide-eyed, horny and slightly drunk.”After looking into this album, I am certainly feeling that way, and I’m not the only one.

Papa RoachCrooked Teeth (Eleven Seven Music)

California hard rock band Papa Roach have released their ninth studio, Crooked Teeth. The album was produced by RAS (Blink-182, Steve Aoki, Waka Flocka Flame… this list just keeps getting better) and Colin Brittain. So far the have released just one music video, which was for the title track, “Crooked Teeth.” The band will be playing a select few festival dates in the U.S. throughout the next few months (including Rock on the Range tomorrow), before heading off to Europe in September. The song “Sunrise Trailer Park” features rapper Machine Gun Kelly. Crooked Teeth is also available on vinyl.

Scale The SummitIn A World Of Fear (Self-Release)

In a World of Fear is the sixth album from Houston, Texas’ instrumental progressive metal three piece Scale the Summit. This is their first release since departing with Prosthetic Records, and the band is self-releasing the album. In A World of Fear features guitar appearances from Jeff Loomis (Arch Enemy), Angel Vivaldi, and Per Nilsson (Scar Symmetry), as well as John Browne (Monuments), Scott Carstairs (Fallujah), James Ivanyi, and Nick Johnston. Just this week the band released the first music from the album, for the track “The Warden.”


Linkin ParkOne More Light (Warner Bros.)

By far the biggest release of the week, California’s pop rock Linkin Park have released their seventh studio album, One More Light. Like all of the the band’s releases, the album was produced by the band’s own Mike Shinoa, and Brad Delson. So far the band has released lyric videos for the two songs “Invincible” and “Battle Symphony,” and a music video for the the not-so-heavy “Heavy.” They’ll will be going on tour in support of the album this fall with Machine Gun Kelly, One Ok Rock, and Snoop Dogg, and there are also a could special dates with Blink-182 thrown in. Originally I had One More Light a lot higher on the list, in the #2 spot, but after hearing a few of the tracks I just couldn’t justify putting them that high up on a rock/metal list because of nostalgia. Suppose to say it’s my way of moving the f$%@ on.

OceanoRevelation (Sumerian Records)

Revelations is the fifth studio album from Illinois deathcore group Oceano. The album is the band’s first release since their transition from Earache to Sumerian Records. It is also the first album to see guitarist Chris Wagner handling both lead and rhythm guitar duties, and the first to feature Andrew Holzbaur on drums, who took over for session drummer Chason Westmoreland back in 2015. Last month they released a music video for the track “Human Harvest” The band is just concluding its U.S. tour with Slaughter to Prevail and Aversions Crown tomorrow in Indianapolis.

Live Releases

EnslavedRoadburn Live (By Norse Music)

Roadburn Live was recorded by the Norwegian extreme metal group Enslaved during their 2015 headlining performance at Roadburn Festival.Also available on vinyl. The album was mixed by Iver Iver Sandøy at Solslottet Studio, and mastered by Jens Bogren (Opeth, Sepultura, Haken, etc.) in Fascination Street Studios. 

RammsteinRammstein: Paris  (Spinefarm)

Four years after they played Paris in 2012, the video and audio recording of the show are available to the public. The album is also available on Blu-Ray and DVD, and if you want a sample of the production you can head on over to YouTube to see the performances of “Wollt Ihr Das Bett In Flammen Sehen?,” “Mutter,” and “Links 2 3 4.” The video was directed by Jonas Åkerlund, who has also worked alongside Metallica, Lady Gaga, Devo, and a ton of other huge artists.

Vinyl Releases

Amon AmarthThe Crusher (Metal Blade)
Amon AmarthVersus The World (Metal Blade)
Iron Maiden, Fear Of The Dark (BMG)
Iron Maiden, No Prayer For The Dying (BMG)
Iron Maiden, The X Factor (BMG)
Iron Maiden, Virtual XI (BMG)
AmputatorDeathcult Barbaric Hell (Greyhaze Records)
AutopsyThe Tomb Within (Peaceville)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categorised in: Columns, New & Noteworthy