New & Noteworthy is a weekly column in which we highlight some of the newest rock and metal releases coming out each week. This week features new studio releases from King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard, and Municipal Waste, as well as a couple of Iron Maiden vinyl reissues. If you would like to check out last week’s releases you can do so hereYou can also check out last week’s sales numbers in Metal by Numbers. Apparently I missed that Rise Against released an album, and then it debuted at #3, with Suffocation and Anathema both having the best U.S. debuts of their careers as well. Metallica’s Harwired… is back above Linkin Pop, so all is right in the world. Something something Spotify, we make playlists.

Studio Releases

King Gizzard And The Lizard Wizard, Murder Of The Universe (ATO Records)

Melbourne, Australia’s psychedelic rockers King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard are releasing their second album this year, Murder of the Universe. MotU is number two of five, in a five album cycle coming from the band this year. They released Flying Microtonal Banana back in February. The band has released a music video for the epic 14 minute song “The Lord of Lightning vs Balrog,” which they performed a shortened version of on Conan in April for their very first major television appearance. They also filmed a recent live performance at KEXP, featuring a few of their new songs. King Gizzard will be playing a few select dates in the U.S. this coming September. Murder of the Universe is also available on green & mustard green vinyl. Keep an eye out for their next album Sketches Of Brunswick East coming later this year.

Municipal Waste, Slime and Punishment (Nuclear Blast)

Slime and Punishment is the sixth studio album from the Richmond,VA crossover thrash band Municipal Waste. The album was the first of theirs to be engineered by bassist Phil “Landphil” Hall at Blaze of Torment Studios in Richmond, VA, and it was mixing and mastered by Bill Metoyer (Slayer, W.A.S.P., Lizzy Borden, etc) in Hollywood, CA. They released a video for the title track, “Slime and Punishment,” a 360 visualizer of the album art. Yesterday we put out a review for the album, calling it “better than 2012’s The Fatal Feast,” and “overall, a good listen.” Check them out this summer on the Van’s Warped Tour. Also available on vinyl & cassette.

KMFDM, Yeah ! (earMUSIC)

Yeah ! is an EP from the German industrial group KMFDM. The EP serves as a bit of a teaser, as the band is releasing their 20th studio album Hell Yeah in August. The album features two new songs, “Hell Yeah” and “Freak Flag,” as well as a remix of the song “Attak” which was released on their 2002 album of the same title. They’ve released a lyric video for the track “Hell Yeah,” which also appears as a  which be doing a small tour throughout the UK this September in support of the upcoming album, and then they’re be in the U.S. through all of October


Dying Fetus, Wrong One To Fuck With (Relapse)
One of the  best albums of their career? According to our review it is. How many bands 22 years into their career can continue to put out quality albums while experimenting  a bit? Our interview with Trey Williams gives some insight as  to where they see themselves in the death metal landscape in 2017.


Akatharta, Spiritus Immundus (Pulverised Records)
Broken Hope, Mutilated And Assimilated (Century Media)
Also available on vinyl.
Conveyer, No Future (Victory)
Father Befouled, Desolate Gods (Dark Descent)
Clutch, Psychic Rockers From The West Group (Weathermaker Music)
Desultory, Through Aching Aeons (Pulverised Records)
Devourment, Butcher The Weak (Unique Leader)
Also available on vinyl.
Devourment, Unleash The Carnivore (Unique Leader)
Also available on vinyl.
Ex Eye, Ex Eye (Relapse)
Also available on vinyl.
Goatwhore, Vengeful Ascension (Metal Blade)
Holocausto, War Metal Massacre (Nuclear War Now)
Hour Of 13, Salt The Dead: The Rare And Unreleased (Shadow Kingdom Records)
Also available on vinyl.
Insatia, Phoenix Aflame (Pitch Black Records)
Jyrki 69, Helsinki Vampire (Cleopatra Records)
Phrenelith, Desolate Endscape (Dark Descent)
Powerflo, Powerflo (New Damage Records)
Siamese, Shameless (Artery Recordings)
The Interbeing, Among The Amorphous (Longbranch Records)
The Monolith, Deathcult Versus 1 (Hammerheart)
Also available on vinyl.
The White Noise, AM/PM (Fearless)
Will be available on vinyl next month.
Tyrannosorceress, Shattering Light’s Creation (Tofu Carnage)
Also available on vinyl.
Wildspeaker, Spreading Adder (Prosthetic Records)


Vinyl Releases

Iron Maiden, Brave New World (Warner Music)

Iron Maiden’s 2000, ’02, ’03, and ’06 releases are all getting vinyl reissues, and every day can be improved with an extra dose of Maiden.
Iron Maiden, A Matter Of Life And Death (Warner Music)
Iron Maiden, Dance Of Death (Warner Music)
Iron Maiden, Rock In Rio (Warner Music)


Meshuggah, The Violent Sleep Of Reason (Nuclear Blast)

Meshuggah’s critically acclaimed 2016 album The Violent Sleep of Reason is getting reissued on a grey/black splatter vinyl.

Helmet, Meantime (Interscope/GeffenA&M)